The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
10 September 2007, 12:57 pm
Winners Celebrate In Newport
Image of DOERR, ANGLE & DONOHUE in action

C. Thomas Clagett Jr. Memorial Regatta 2007
Newport, USA

An exciting finale was on tap at the fifth annual C. Thomas Clagett Jr. Memorial Regatta, hosted by Sail Newport, as three days of racing wrapped up on Narragansett Bay.
With five boats racing in both the SKUD 18 and 2.4 Metre classes, and eight in the Sonar, there were no huge numbers to drop once each fleet got to the requisite eighth race when a discard would be figured into the overall scores.

That didn't keep the drama factor down though as the competitors fought their way around the course through seaweed and in light and shifty winds that never exceeded 10 knots.

Scott WHTIMAN (Brick, N.J.) and Julia Dorsett (West Chester, Penn.), fleet leaders in the SKUD 18s after winning all three of yesterday's races, not only snagged a lobster pot for the second time during the series, they also posted finishes of 3-1-2. That tied them at 17 points with Karen MITCHELL (Deerfield Beach, Fla.) and 2004 Sonar Paralympic Bronze Medallist J.P. CREIGNOU (St. Petersburg, Fla.) who finished 1-2-5, with Whitman and Dorsett prevailing in the tie-breaker. 2005 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Nick SCANDONE (Fountain Valley, Calif.) and Maureen McKINNON-TUCKER (Marblehead, Mass.) won the final race of the series - after earlier finishes of 2-3 net them 18 points - as all five boats crossed the finish line within 15 seconds of each other.

In the Sonar class, Rick DOERR (Clifton, N.J.), Tim ANGLE (Somerville, Mass.), and Bill DONOHUE (Brick, N.J.) hooked a mark in the first race of the day during a confused mark rounding. Retiring from that race, they picked up nine points, subsequently adding 5-4 for 25 points overall to end the series where they started - first overall. Israel's 2004 Sonar Paralympic Gold Medallists Dror COHEN and Arnon EFRATI, with Benny VEXLER, moved to close yesterday's 10-point gap with finishes of 3-1-5, and finished second overall with 26 points. 2000 Paralympian Paul CALLAHAN (Newport, R.I./Cape Coral, Fla.) with 2004 Paralympian Roger CLEWORTH (Lithia, Fla.) and Tom BROWN (Northeast Harbor, Maine), the two-time Paralympic 2.4 Medallist, finished third overall with 27 points after finishes of 2-2-3 today.

Ming Xue QI (Beijing, China) improved on yesterday's upward move to second overall in the 2.4 Metre class as finishes of 1-3-2 gave him 21 points and the fleet win. Mark LEBLANC (New Orleans, La.) also made a big move - from fourth to second overall - with finishes of 3-2-1. He too carried 21 points, as did John RUF (Pewaukee, Wisc.) who placed 2-1-3 today.

Media Pro Int'l (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM