The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
7 September 2007, 11:29 am
World Sailor Nomination Deadline - 3 September 2007
Image of the World Sailor Trophy
The winners will be presented with the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award Trophy and a Rolex Timepiece

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2007

The nomination deadline for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2007 is rapidly approaching, but it's not too late to nominate the sailor YOU believe should win the award!
Since the inaugural presentation in 1994, an exceptional list of the world's top sailors have been nominated for the awards.

Numerous success stories have already been witnessed since the start of the nomination period on 1 September 2006 and since nominations were invited at the end of July, ISAF has received numerous nominations for sailors across the disciplines. There is now less than 1 week to go before the close of nominations on 3 September 2007 so please ensure that you return the Nomination Form to the Secretariat as soon as possible.

Anyone can nominate a sailor and all nominations must be submitted on the official nomination form which is available on the ISAF website via the following link

The accomplishments of the sailors who are nominated every year are an inspiration but ultimately there can only be two winners - a female and a male World Sailor of the Year.

Sailors nominated may represent any discipline of the sport of sailing, from dinghies to offshore, windsurfing to speed sailing and their achievements may be as diverse as round the world record breaking passages, a series of regatta wins or triumph against the odds, but must meet the criteria of 'outstanding achievement during the period 1 September 2006 through to 31 August 2007'.

A shortlist will be decided from all of the nominations received by the deadline and those sailors will go on to become the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2007 Nominees. The ISAF Member National Authorities will be then vote for those sailors who they believe merit the awards but the winners will not be announced until the night of the awards presentation on Tuesday 6 November in Estoril, Portugal.

The winners will be presented with the unique marble and silver trophy, depicting the globe crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents and a Rolex timepiece.

Nominations close at 1000 UTC on Monday 3 September 2007.

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM