The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
17 August 2009, 11:46 am
Peru Win Optimist World Championship Title
Sinclair Jones of Peru celebrates
Sinclair Jones of Peru celebrates becoming 2009 Optimist World Champion

IODA Team Racing World Championship 2009
Niteroi, Brazil

Sinclair Jones from Peru has become the 2009 Optimist World Champion following the final day of racing in Niteroi, Brazil.
Congratulations to Sinclair Jones of Peru, who finished top of the 211 sailors from 47 countries competing in Niteroi to become the 2009 Optimist World Champion. In second place was the Mohamad Faizal of Malaysia, followed by Argentine Ignácio Rogala. Thailand's Noppakao Poonpat was the top female finisher, taking fourth place overall.

On the final day of the championship, the race committee and sailors waited patiently for wind today and finally the breeze filled in and race 12 began. Completing this race would permit another discard so for many sailors with a poor race finish, completing this race would enable them to drop their worst result.

The sailors were anxious to start, many remaining above the line during the starting sequence resulting in an AP from the race committee. Determined to complete this race, at the next start an 'I' flag was displayed in an attempt to keep the sailors behind the line. This time the fleet got away but many sailors were identified as over the line at the starting signal (OCS), did not go back and start correctly and so were scored 73 points.

The left side of the course was heavily favoured and so the fleet remained quite tightly bunched as they all headed to the left. The other starts got away, all with an 'I' flag and so this championship, sailed at a venue with some of the most challenging of wind conditions, was over. The leader going into today, Faizal Norizan of Malaysia had a disappointing race and was not able to improve his series score but Jones, in second place, sailed an excellent race, finished ninth and became the overall winner by eight points.

Congratulations to Jones and all of the 211 sailors from 47 countries who have made this championship so memorable. The Club Navale Charitas and their many volunteers have done a fantastic job in making this event so successful, thank you. Everyone has been made to feel welcome and I am sure that they will all have incredible memories of their time in Brazil.

Five-time Olympic medallist and Volvo Ocean Race winner Torben Grael (BRA) presented awards at the prizegiving held at the host Club Navale Charitas in Niteroi. The ceremony included the handing over of the IODA flag to the Malaysian team who will be the next hosts of the IODA Worlds in 2010, in Langkawi.

Results - click here

Prize Winners

The first three places in each category were:

IODA World Champioship, Beacon Challenge Cup (best placed sailor irrespective of gender)

1. Sinclair Jones, Peru
2. Mohamad Faizal Norizan, Malaysia
3. Ignacio Rogala, Argentina

Best placed female sailor

1. Noppakao Poonpat, Thailand
2. Ewa Szczesna, Poland
3. Paulina Rothlauf, Germany

IODA Team Racing World Championship, IODA Challenge Cup

1. China
2. Peru
3. Singapore

Optimist Nations Cup Miami Herald Trophy (national team with the lowest total points of its top four sailors)

1. Malaysia
2. Brazil
3. Thailand

IODA (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM