The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
18 August 2009, 09:58 am
Russians Win 33rd Micro World Title On Home Waters
The Micro fleet contest their World title on Moscow's Klyazminskoe lake
The Micro fleet contest their World title on Moscow's Klyazminskoe lake

Micro Cup - Micro World Championship 2009
Moscow, Russia

The Russian crew of Evgeniy Neugodnikov, Andrey Bill and Aleksandr Ekimov were crowned winners of the 2009 Micro World Championship held in Moscow, Russia.
Two hundred and twenty participants in 72 crews represented 13 countries from three continents at the Micro Cup - Micro World Championship in Russia, which was held on Moscow's Klyazminskoe lake. The Netherlands, Belgium, France, Germany, Poland, Argentina, Brazil, USA, Serbia, Latvia, Estonia, Belarus and Kazakhstan were all represented along with the host nation Russia, who in the end dominated the competition taking all three podium spots

The championship was opened at the Moscow Sailing School "Chlebnikovko" by President of International Micro Class Association Philippe De Troy from Belgium and the President of Russian Yachting Federation Dmitry Zelenin. From that moment on the Russian crews dominated, leading from start to finish and winning all but two of the 11 races sailed.

Well-known Russian match racer Eugeniy Neugodnikov led his crew of Andrey Bill and Alexander Ekimov to an emphatic victory, winning the 2009 World title with a race to spare. Eugeniy Nikiforov, Dmitry Lukyanov and Pavel Brednev (RUS) took the silver medal, with Sergey Musikhin, Kirill Luzin and Yury Popov (RUS) completing the podium.

Within the Micro World Championship was also the "Micro ADMIRAL's CUP" Team World Cup and Euro Cup "Open Moscow Micro Cup 2009". Sets of medals were also presented to top Micro yachts classified as Proto, Racer, Cruiser and National division Touring, besides women crews and youth crews up to 21.

On the final day of racing, with Neugodnikov and his team already having the World title wrapped up, the Admiral Cup races were completed. In order to take Admiral Cup every participated nation was represented in each division - Proto, Racer and Cruiser. The results were summarized and finally the Russian Team from Urals - Maxim Taranov, Dmitry Sudakov, Sergey Musihin won the Cup.

Following the racing, the Prize Giving and Closing Ceremony were held in evening, with a concert programme and disco following the ceremonial part of the festival. In addition to the World Championship medals, with the Organizing Committee presented the award to the best junior crew of the 2009 Micro Worlds to another Russian team: Daniil Deyanov, Aleksandr Romanov, Kristina Grigoreva.

Organizers of the Micro Cup and Micro World championship were: Moscow Sailing Federation, Micro Class Association "", Russian Yachting Federation, under the control of IMCCA.

Results - click here
Marianna Maagnitskaya (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM