The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
27 August 2009, 10:30 am
YAVA Trophy 2009 Back In Ekaterinburg
Action from the opening races in Ekaterinburg
Action from the opening races in Ekaterinburg

YAVA Trophy 2009
Ekaterinburg, Russia

After a two-year stay in Moscow, the battle for the 2009 YAVA Trophy returns to Ekaterinburg.
It seems that the nature itself is happy about this comeback. In spite of all the forecasts, Wednesday was a sunny, windy, real racing day.

The ISAF Grade 1 international match racing YAVA Trophy 2009 has been held in Ekaterinburg since 1991. For the last two years the regatta was moved to Moscow (in 2007 and 2008), but this year the YAVA Trophy returns to Verkh-Isetskiy in Ekaterinburg, with competition taking place from 25-30 August.

Ten skippers are taking part in this year's championship, battling for the prize money fund of 55,000 Euros: Mads Ebler (DEN), Eugeniy Neugodnikov (RUS), Ian Ainslie (RSA), Andrew Arbuzov (RUS), Manuel Weiller (ESP), Sergey Musikhin (RUS), Farokh Tarapore (IND), Leonid Chernin (LAT) and from the qualifying event, the Ekaterinburg Cup, the teams of Eugeniy Nikiforov (RUS) and Maxim Taranov (RUS).

The planned format of the regatta includes holding of double round-robin (each skipper sails each other twice), and after this the semi-finals and finals will be held.

On the first racing day (26 August), 10 flights (30 races) were held - in total two-thirds of the first round robin. Neugodnikov is the leader with six wins in six races. MUSIHIN won five races out of six, Ebler, Arbuzov and Weiller won four races out of six.

The press-conference was held at 18:30, where seven television channels and 12 newspapers of federal and regional level were presented. After the press- conference, at 19:00 the official opening ceremony with a concert was held.
Yana Dobzhitskaya
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM