The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
30 June 2009, 10:32 am
MIRSKY And PRESTI Make The Early Running At Match Cup Sweden
Racing on day one in Sweden
Racing on day one in Sweden

Match Cup Sweden 2009
Marstrand, Sweden

Australia's Torvar MIRSKY and Frenchman Philippe PRESTI are the only two skippers who remain unbeaten after the opening exchanges at Match Cup Sweden, stage five of the 2009 World Match Racing Tour.
The beautiful island of Marstrand located an hour north west of Sweden's second city, Gothenburg, plays host to Match Cup Sweden, the fifth stage of the 2009 World Match Racing Tour, this week.

Torvar MIRSKY (AUS) and his Mirsky Racing Team, fresh from his victory at Portugal Match Cup and the runner up here last year, went 2-0 in their opening round robin matches, a scorecard equalled by Philippe PRESTI (FRA) and his French Match Racing Team. MIRSKY is clearly happy to be back and wants to go one better than his second place position from 2008. Current World Champion Ian WILLIAMS (GBR) and the Bahrain Team Pindar crew had a solid start to the event and returned a 2-1 scorecard for the day. Along with PRESTI, it was also a good day for the three other French Teams, who also all took two wins.

On the occasion of its 15th anniversary of Match Cup Sweden, the organizers are expecting 140,000 people to enjoy the sights, sounds and carnival atmosphere. Promoter of Match Cup Sweden Pierre TINNERHOLM said, "It's going to be another spectacular week of racing and partying. As one of Sweden's biggest sporting events we look forward to welcoming everyone to the Island to watch the Match Racing and enjoy all the shore-side festivities too."

It's been a busy couple of weeks for Swedish sailing with the Volvo Ocean race pitstop here in Marstrand and the ninth leg finish in Stockholm both of which drew huge crowds to welcome the round the world sailors and see them off on their final leg to St Petersburg.

The next seven days will see two events intertwined, the 14 team World Match Racing Tour event and an eight-team Women's ISAF Grade 1 event, which is sure to be a build up event to the ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship being held in the same boats just up the coast in Lysekil at the end of July. As a result of the expanded program the Tour event started on Monday at 08:00 with practice sessions between 08:00-12:00. A short break between 12:00 and 13:00 was taken to allow any issues with the boats to be fixed and at 13:00 sharp racing got underway.

The format sees the 14 teams split into two groups of seven for a round robin each, the top three of both groups go to the quarter finals, the rest go into a repechage round to select the final two for the knockouts. From there follows the usual semi finals and finals with the finals scheduled for Sunday afternoon. The ladies will race a double round robin followed by semi finals and culminating in the finals on Saturday afternoon.

Racing will continue on Tuesday along with the women's teams taking to the water for their practice session.


Group A

Sébastien COL (FRA), French Match Racing Team/K-Challenge, 2-1
Torvar MIRSKY (AUS), Mirsky Racing, 2-0
Adam MINOPRIO (NZL), ETNZ/BlackMatch, 1-1
Damien IEHL (FRA), French Match Racing Racing Team, 2-1
Bjorn HANSEN (SWE), Team Onico, 1-1
Mattias RAHM (SWE), Stena Bulk Sailing Team, 0-1
Peter GILMOUR (AUS), YANMAR Racing, 0-1

Group B

Mathieu RICHARD (FRA), French Match Racing Team, 2-1
Ian WILLIAMS (GBR), Bahrain Team Pindar, 2-1
Philippe PRESTI (FRA), French Match Racing Team, 2-0
Johnie BERNTSSON (SWE), Berntsson Sailing Team, 0-2
Peter WIBROE (DEN), Wibroe Racing Team, 0-1
Magnus HOLMBERG (SWE), Victory Challenge, 1-0
Francesco BRUNI (ITA), Team Joe Fly Match Racing, 0-1

ISAF Match Racing World Championship Leaderboard
(Top eight teams after Stage 4 of 10)

1. Adam MINOPRIO (NZL), ETNZ/BlackMatch, 61 points
2. Ian WILLIAMS (GBR), Bahrain Team Pindar, 49 points
3. Mathieu RICHARD (FRA), French Match Racing Team, 48 points
4. Torvar MIRSKY (AUS), Mirsky Racing Team, 46 points
5. Ben AINSLIE (GBR), Team Origin, 40 points
6. Damien IEHL (FRA), French Match Racing Team, 32 points
7. Paolo CIAN (ITA), Shosholoza Team, 31 points
8. Peter GILMOUR (AUS), YANMAR Racing, 31 points

The winner of the annual World Match Racing Tour is crowned as ISAF Match Racing World Champion. Find out more at

Tour Media
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM