The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
30 June 2009, 12:00 pm
ISAF Announces New ISAF Athletes' Commission Line Up
The ISAF Athletes' Commission logo

ISAF Athletes' Commission

ISAF is delighted to announce the 10 sailors who have been elected to the ISAF Athletes' Commission.
The Athletes' Commission members each represent one of the 10 sailing events chosen for the 2012 London Olympic Games. They were elected by sailors in the Athletes' Commission elections which concluded on Sunday 28 June 2009. The new Commission members will serve a four-year term until 2013 and will report directly to the ISAF Executive Committee.

The new line up of the Commission represents a wide range of ages, experience, disciplines and nations. Between them, the members of the Athletes' Commission have won five Olympic medals (three of them gold), five World Championship titles in the Olympic events and two Match Racing World Championship titles. Seven of the Commission members have been re-elected for a second term, whilst double ISAF Women's Match Racing World Champion Claire LEROY, Beijing Olympic gold medallist in the Men's 470, Malcolm PAGE and Swedish Laser sailor Rasmus MYRGREN are new members.

The members of the ISAF Athletes' Commission for 2009-2013 are:

Laser - Men's One Person Dinghy

Laser Radial - Women's One Person Dinghy

Finn - Men's One Person Dinghy Heavy

RS:X - Men's Windsurfer

RS:X - Women's Windsurfer

470 - Men's Two Person Dinghy
Malcolm PAGE (AUS)

470 - Women's Two Person Dinghy
Marcelien DE KONING (NED)

49er - Men's Two Person Dinghy High Performance

Star - Men's Keelboat

Elliott 6m - Women's Match Racing
Claire LEROY (FRA)

The first task of the new Commission members will be to elect their chairman. The first meeting of the newly elected representatives is provisionally scheduled be held at the ISAF Secretariat in October 2009.

You can find out more about the ISAF Athletes' Commission on the ISAF website at
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM