The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
3 February 2009, 06:30 pm
ISAF Publishes Qualification System And Events For 2010 Youth Olympic Games
The Singapore 2010 logo
The Singapore 2010 logo, 'Spirit of Youth'

Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games

ISAF has published the qualification system and qualifying events for the sailing competition at the 2010 Youth Olympic Games.
The inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG) will be held in Singapore in August 2010 and feature 100 young sailors competing across four sailing events.

Boys Windsurfer - Techno 293
Boys 1 Person Dinghy - Byte CII
Girls Windsurfer - Techno 293
Girls 1 Person Dinghy - Byte CII

The sailing events at Singapore are open to 15-16 year old, so in order to be eligible to compete at the YOG, an athlete must have been born between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1995.

For each of the four sailing events, there are seven Youth Olympic Qualification Events (YOQE). Competitors qualify their National Olympic Committee (NOC) at a YOQE, and the NOC will then select its competitor for that event. In order to make the YOG as accessible to as many nations as possible, there is a maximum of one male and one female athlete per NOC for all events. In addition, the host nation automatically qualifies one male and one female and 14 of the 100 places are reserved as NOC Universality Places to be assigned by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

Alastair FOX, Events Manager at the ISAF Secretariat, said, "The Youth Olympic Games is set to be a groundbreaking event and ISAF is delighted to announce details of how countries can qualify for Singapore 2010. Participation and universality are key themes of the Youth Olympics and ISAF is aiming for 50 nations to compete in the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games. One of the key priorities for ISAF is to ensure the qualification events are spread across all six continents. The Youth Olympic Games provides a great opportunity for the youth of the world to be inspired by sailing and ISAF will work closely with the Singapore Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee to help showcase our sport."

The seven YOQE for each event are made up of six Continental Qualification Events and a final World Championship or world qualification event. At the Continental Qualification Events only nations within that continent will be eligible for YOG Qualification. The final qualification events will be confirmed and posted on the ISAF website in February 2009.

Details on the quotas for the maximum number of competitors who can qualify at the World Championship and Continental Qualification Events are available on the ISAF Youth Olympic Games microsite via the link below.

Click here to view full details on the qualification system for the sailing events at the 2010 Youth Olympic Games.

Click here to view the qualification events for the sailing events at the 2010 Youth Olympic Games.

Find out more on the Youth Olympic Games at

Go here for all the news on the 2010 Singapore Youth Olympic Games.

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM