The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 May 2005, 07:47 am
Paul HENDERSON Honoured With 2005 Beppe Croce Trophy
ISAF President Göran PETERSSON, left, presents the Beppe Croce Trophy to Paul HENDERSON

ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy
Stockholm, Sweden

On Friday 13 May 2005, ISAF presented its most prestigious award, the ISAF Beppe Croce, to Paul HENDERSON (CAN), ISAF President from 1994-2004.
The presentation was particular significant, as for the first time since its introduction in 1988, the ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy was presented at an evening entirely devoted to this prestigious Trophy and its recipient, hosted by presenting sponsor, Sanpellegrino.

Being awarded the Beppe Croce Trophy is an honour reserved to a few great names who, with their voluntary commitment and devotion, have contributed in an outstanding way to the growth and evolution of sailing over the years.

Paul HENDERSON culminated 34 years of work for ISAF and its predecessor, IYRU, in November 2004. As ISAF President, the past decade alone was marked by his determination and devotion to his ideals.

Before becoming involved with ISAF, Paul was a competitive sailor, winning medals at World, North American and various National Championships. He holds the remarkable record of having competed in all the Canadian Olympic Sailing Trials from 1948 to 1984. Paul represented Canada at three Olympic Games; the first two as an athlete when he competed in Tokyo, sailing the Flying Dutchman and in Mexico City where he sailed the Finn. He was also the Canadian Olympic Coach in Munich in 1972.

After becoming a Committee Member in 1970, Paul's skill and knowledge were apparent and he became an ISAF Vice-President only 8 years later, serving in that position from 1978-1994. During that period he was responsible for the Olympic Games, Regional Games and the Pacific Rim countries, and the technical consultant for sailing venues.

Paul was elected President of the ISAF in 1994; the first non-European to ever hold the position.

Paul has been on the Executive Board of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) and the General Assembly of International Sports Federations (GAISF), and was an IOC member from 2000-2004.

Paul's successor ISAF President Göran Petersson presented the tribute, and concluded by saying:

'ISAF pays tribute to the hard work and friendly smile that have marked the past ten years as ISAF President. Your energy never faltered.

Paul is a man who believes everyone should have the opportunity to have fun in boats and everything he has done over the years has been to help us all achieve that goal. For some it has been an Olympic dream for some just the chance to sail in boats.

Beppe Croce would be very proud to know that the young man from Canada is today being honoured with the presentation of the ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy.

We all owe Paul a tremendous debt of Gratitude. On behalf of ISAF, my sincere thanks for your thirty four years of effort and commitment to our sport.'

Presenting the Trophy together with Göran Petersson, Mr Sangiorgi, International Director of Sanpellegrio, said, 'We are very proud to be a partner of ISAF and in particular to have the honour to present the ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy. A very special awarded entitled to Beppe Croce, one of the greatest Ambassadors of Italian style worldwide ? the same style which distinguishes Sanpellegrino. Sanpellegrino pays tribute to Paul Henderson.'

In receiving the Trophy, Paul responded, 'Naturally it is a great honour to be awarded the ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy, named after my great friend and mentor. It has been a great honour to have supported ISAF and a great honour to be elected as President.'

The Federazione Italiana Vela presented the trophy to ISAF in memory of Beppe Croce, ISAF President from 1969-1986. Presented to an individual who has made a voluntary outstanding contribution to the sport of sailing, the ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy roll of honour is an impressive one. Including multiple Olympic medallists, rules gurus and designers, all have dedicated an outstanding amount of time to the sport of sailing:

1988 His Majesty King Olav V of Norway
1989 F. Gregg Bemis (USA) / Gerald Sambrooke-Sturgess OBE (GBR)
1990 Paul Elvström (DEN)
1991 His Majesty King Juan Carlos of Spain
1992 Olin Stephens II (USA)
1993 Paul J. Phelan (CAN)
1994 Jonathan Janson (GBR)
1995 Otto Schlenzka (GER)
1996 Henry H. Anderson, JR (USA)
1997 Carlo Rolandi (ITA)
1998 Peter Tallberg (FIN)
1999 Mary Pera (GBR)
2000 Livius Sherwood (CAN)
2001 Peter Siemsen (BRA)
2002 Jan Linge (NOR)
2003 John Tinker (CAN)

Sanpellegrino, as the ISAF Official Supplier of mineral water and presenting sponsor of the ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy, brought its elegant and unmistakable touch of Italian style alongside international sailing.

Image: Göran Petersson - ISAF President, Paul Henderson,
Mr Sangriorgi - International Director of Sanpellegrino. © ISAF

ISAF. Image:
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM