The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
25 March 2009, 02:15 pm
ISAF President Göran PETERSSON Elected As ASOIF Council Member
ISAF President Göran PETERSSON at the Closing Ceremony of the 2008 Olympic Sailing Competition
ISAF President Göran PETERSSON has been elected as a member of the ASOIF Council


Göran PETERSSON, President of the ISAF, was today elected to the Council of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF).
The elections for the Council took place at the Annual General Assembly of ASOIF, held during the Sportaccord conference in Denver, USA.

"It is a great honour to be elected to the ASOIF Council by my fellow members of the International Federations," said PETERSSON. "I am looking forward to working with President Denis Oswald and the other members of the ASOIF Council to preserve autonomy whilst helping to co-ordinate the common interests and goals of the International Summer Olympic Federations."

PETERSSON, from Sweden, was re-elected as ISAF President for a second four-year term in November 2008. As well as his involvement in the administration of the sport, the ISAF President has played a key role at the sailing events of the Olympic Games over several decades. He was a member of the International Jury at every Games from 1980-1996 (Chairman of the International Jury in 1992 and 1996) and was one of two Technical Delegates for sailing at the Sydney 2000 and Athens 2004 Games.

PETERSSON was one of three new ASOIF Council members elected in Denver along with Sergey BUBKA, senior Vice-President of the International Association of Athletics Federations, and Pat MCQUAID, president of the International Cycling Union. Denis OSWALD, president of the International Rowing Federation, was re-elected as ASOIF President. The President and the new Council Members are elected for four-year mandates. Bob ELPHINSTON, president of the International Basketball Federation, also joins the ASOIF Council. He ran unopposed for the ASOIF Council seat which had been vacated by Els VAN BREDA VRIESMAN, the former president of the International Hockey Federation, and will complete the two-years remaining of that term.

ASOIF was formed in 1983 and currently consists of the 26 International Federations whose sports are featured on the programme for the London 2012 Olympic Games. ASOIF's stated role is "to serve and represent the Summer Olympic International Federations in the most competent, articulate and professional manner on issues of common interest in the Summer Olympic Games and the Olympic Movement, and on any other matter deemed necessary by the IFs".
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM