The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
10 May 2005, 10:55 am
HOLLERBACH Wins Inaugural Event
No ALT tag specified

Chicago Match Racing Regatta 2005
Chicago, USA

In an exciting best-of-three final round, Nathan HOLLERBACH (USA) won the inaugural ISAF Grade 3 2005 Chicago Match Race Regatta. The event was sailed last weekend from 7-8 May in equally-matched J/80 class yachts and featured eight teams from three countries.
Joined by team members Patrick MCMATH, Michael HOEY, and Evan JAHN, HOLLERBACH reached the final through a multi-stage round-robin format and had an exciting and contentious two-match series against Canadian Bill ABBOTT.

'This was a fantastic regatta,' said HOLLERBACH at the prizegiving, 'the organizers did a great job. With more and more events like this, we¹re really excited to see match race sailing explode all over the US.'

HOLLERBACH now lives in Chicago, but hails originally from Detroit and has represented the Bayview YC in many past match race events. He won the ISAF Grade 3 US National Match Race Championship, the Prince of Wales Bowl, in 2003, and has competed in the Ficker Cup and Pacific Life YC Challenge.

In an exciting best-of-three series, HOLLERBACH was paired against Canadian Soling champion Bill ABBOTT in the final, and although both matches were won by HOLLERBACH, ABBOTT and his team pushed back hard. In ideal eight knot conditions, the two battled both in the pre-starts and around the course, trading leads and narrowly dodging penalties. In the second and deciding match, HOLLERBACH had earned a penalty in the pre-start but had extended his lead by just enough in the second beat to do his turn and remain just ahead of ABBOTT. The two had a fierce gybe dual down the run, with ABBOTT very nearly able to get past.

'The field of competitors at this event were extraordinary, well beyond our expectations,' said regatta chair Betsy ALTMAN of Chicago YC. 'We're really pleased to have had such close racing, and hope we can lure them back here in the future.'

Despite being on the runner-up team with ABBOTT, regatta organizer Ed FURRY was also pleased with the outcome of this inaugural event. 'We have an exciting opportunity to expand match race sailing here in the Lakes, and feel this regatta has gone a long way towards bringing more awareness to the game.'


  1. Nathan HOLLERBACH (USA)
  2. Bill ABBOTT (CAN)
  3. Betsy ALISON (USA)
  4. Bruce MAHONEY (USA)
  5. Marie KLOK CRUMP (DEN)
  6. Justin HOOD (USA)
  7. Justin DAMORE (USA)
  8. Don WILSON (USA) (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Action from the weekend:© Heather Eggleston/Match Race One
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM