The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 January 2009, 09:51 am
Australians Win Tight Finish At Flying Fifteen Worlds
World Champions Grant ALDERSON and Dean MCAULLAY
World Champions Grant ALDERSON and Dean MCAULLAY

Flying Fifteen World Championship 2009
Melbourne, Australia

Australia's Grant ALDERSON and Dean MCAULLAY are the 2009 Flying Fifteen World Champions after an incredibly close finish to the series on Port Philip Bay, Melbourne.
The scene was set for an exciting final day at the 17th Flying Fifteen World Championship, with two teams tied on equal points going into the last race of the series. After wins in the two previous races, Grant ALDERSON and Dean MCAULLAY (AUS), who won the Australian national title a week ago, were neck-a-neck with Barry PARKIN and Tim HALL (GBR).

The pressure looked to be telling as Australians started race seven poorly, but they fought back strongly and crossed the line in third place, one place ahead of PARKIN and HALL to secure the Australians the World Championship title. PARKIN and HALL won the silver medal, whilst Steve GOACHER and Phil EVANS (GBR) claimed the bronze.

Results - click here
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM