The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
22 September 2009, 10:15 am
2009 Soling Worlds Wrap Up In Toronto
Bill Abbott, Paul Davis and Joanne Abbott, the 2009 Soling World Champions
Bill Abbott, Paul Davis and Joanne Abbott, the 2009 Soling World Champions

Soling World Championship 2009
Toronto, Canada

With two bullets in the two last races Bill Abbott, Paul Davis and Joanne Abbott of Canada clinched the World title in Toronto in emphatic style.
Team Marinepool with Roman Koch, Maxl Koch and Gregor Bornemann (GER) finished second with a consistent performance by Peter Hall, Phillip Kerrigan and Gavin Flinn (CAN) squeezing into the podium in third.

Hans Fogh, Roger Cheer and Gordon Devries (CAN) finished fourth after a bad final day and being near the top of the leaderboard almost the whole week. George Nehm, Marcos Ribeiro and Samuel Albrecht (BRA) ended up in fifth place.

The final day's races started earlier than the other days with a nice East /South East breeze blowing into the bay, it paid big in both races to go to the left side. There was very tight racing in both races on Sunday with lead changes and big middle fleet gains and losses.

Johan Offermans, Peter Norman and John Kerr (NED) won the KC 1 Classic Trophy for boats built before 1 January 1980. The Tony Clare trophy awarded for the best woman placed in the event went again, as in 2006, to Joanne Abbott. Unfortunately there was no contender for the Paul Elvstrom trophy at the event, that hopefully will be back in competition during the 2010 Worlds in Porto Alegre, Brazil at dates close to Carnival. The website for the event is ready at

The EYC hosted a great event, and weather helped with sun in almost all days, some windy and some not that much, but enough to finish the 9 races scheduled for the event.

The ISA thanks the EYC for the great job done during this past week and we are looking forward to come back for the 2010 NA championship to be held in Bath also in Ontario.

Results - click here

Matias Collins
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM