The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
18 May 2005, 10:23 am
Paul HENDERSON Honoured
No ALT tag specified

Canadian Yachting Association News
Toronto, Canada

On Thursday 5 May the Canadian Yachting Association (CYA) unveiled plans for the opening of the Canadian Sailing Hall of Fame at Portsmouth Olympic Harbour in Kingston. At a special fund raising dinner at Toronto's Sutton Place Hotel, Paul HENDERSON (CAN), ISAF President from 1994-2004, was named the first inductee to the Hall of Fame at a sold-out event attended by His Majesty King Constantine.
His Majesty King Constantine II, former King of Greece and ISAF President of Honour, is an Olympic gold medallist in sailing having won in the Dragon in 1960. The formal dinner was attended by many other distinguished people from the yachting community including current and past Canadian Sailing Team members and many of the CYA's most important business partners, among them Annette WILDGOOSE of Sport Canada and Victor ROYCE of ROLEX. Also joining His Majesty to celebrate the occasion were Derek HATFIELD, Janet BAXTER from US Sailing, Tim IRWIN of CORK, Doreen HINKSMAN from Canadian Power Squadron, Jane PITFIELD from the City of Toronto, and Paul PHELAN Jnr, a generous supporter of many elite Canadian athletes.

In addition to the honour bestowed upon Paul HENDERSON, who also recently received the ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy, it was also announced that all past Canadian Olympic medal winners and all past Canadian World Champions of Olympic and Paralympic class boats would be among the first inductees into the Hall of Fame. Olympic medallists Hans FOGH and John KERR along with World Champions Bill ABBOTT and Joanne ABBOTT were present at the event.

Proceeds from the dinner will go to support the Canadian Sailing Team and plans for formal induction ceremonies in Kingston are now underway. (As Amended By ISAF).
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM