The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 November 2001, 03:05 pm
Peter SIEMSEN Awarded 2001 Beppe Croce Trophy

ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy

Peter SIEMSEN of Brazil was presented with the prestigious ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy by ISAF President Paul HENDERSON on 13 November 2001 in recognition of his outstanding voluntary contribution to the sport of sailing.
Peter Siemsen started sailing in 1948, and since has raced in several classes including dinghies, keelboats and offshore.

He is a two-time Brazilian Star Class Champion (1964 and 1970), and in 1964 he took Silver at the South American Star Class Championships, followed by a win in 1996 at the Star World's Senior Trophy.

An international judge since 1985, Peter has officiated at the Pan-American Games, Olympic Games, Louis Vuitton Cup, America's Cup and at several world and continental championships.

Events at which he has been Chairman of the Jury include the 1986 Louis Vuitton Cup, the 1997 and 2000 Cape Town to Rio Races amongst others. He is currently a member of the jury for the Volvo Ocean Race.

He has served within his beloved Star Class for many years and was President of the Star Class from 1987 to 1990. In recognition of his contribution to the Star Class he was awarded the Harry Nye trophy

Within ISAF, or as it was then the IYRU, he was a Vice-President from 1986 through to 1994, and led the working parties responsible for drafting the Advertising, Sponsorship and Eligibility Codes between 1987 to 1991. He was awarded an ISAF Gold Medal in 1994 for his contribution to the sport.

As an event organiser, he has run several world and continental championships.

He received the Harry Nye Trophy for contributions to the Star Class and a gold medal from the IYRU for his work to the benefit of sailing.

He is a member of the International Olympic Committee Court of Arbitration for sport and a member of several organisations responsible for international intellectual property law.

In his professional life, he is a lawyer and the senior partner of a large law firm in Rio de Janeiro.

Past Recipients are:
1988 ? His Majesty King Olav V of Norway
1989 ? F Gregg Bemis (USA) and Gerald Sambrooke-Sturgess OBE (GBR)
1990 ? Paul Elvstr?m (DEN)
1991 ? His Majesty King Juan Carlos of Spain
1992 ? Olin Stephens II (USA)
1993 ? Paul J Phelan (CAN)
1994 ? Jonathan Janson (GBR)
1995 ? Otto Schlenzka (GER)
1996 ? Harry H Anderson Jr (USA)
1997 - Carlo Rolandi (ITA)
1998 ? Peter Tallberg (FIN)
1999 ? Mary Pera (GBR)
2000 ? Livius Sherwood (CAN)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM