The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
4 June 2001, 07:31 pm
Nicorette Takes Line Honours
No ALT tag specified

Telstra Sydney - Hobart Race

The Swedish maxi yacht Nicorette took line honours in the 2000 Telstra Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race, crossing the finish line on the River Derwent at Hobart at 3.02.09 am Friday after battling a gale in Storm Bay in the final hours of the 630 nautical ...
Galeforce winds reached 50 knots as the 80-footer sailed across Storm Bay under heavily reefed mainsail and storm jib. Ironically, two miles from the finish line off Hobart's historic Battery Point, Nicorette virtually stopped as she sailed under the lee of Mount Nelson, with the crew working fast to hoist a bigger jib and shake out reefs in the mainsail. Nicorette's elapsed time of 2 days 14 hours 2 minutes 9 seconds is some 20 hours outside the record-slashing time set by the Danish 60-footer Nokia in the 1999 race.
Nicorette was some 30 miles ahead of the second boat, Grant Wharington's 83-footer Wild Thing from Melbourne. Following Wild Thing came the first of the Volvo 60s, the Bermudan boat TYCO, skippered by Kiwi ace Kevin Shoebridge, with illbruck (John Kostecki) and News Corporation (Jez Fanstone) further astern. Then came Assa Abloy, skippered by Olympic yachtsman Roy Heiner, with last year's record-slashing Nokia (Stefan Myralf) chasing the tight pack of V60s. Meanwhile, the Sydney yacht Yendys is making a strong bid for a rare back-to-back overall IMS handicap win in the Telstra Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race. The Farr 49, owned and skippered by Hong Kong-based Australian yachtsman Geoff Ross, took overall IMS honours in the 1999 race only weeks after being launched. Based on positions reported from the fleet at 3am Friday, Yendys, has sailed to the top of the leader board in progressive provisional corrected times, with a corrected speed of 12.24 knots.

In second place, with an IMS corrected speed of 10.37 knots, is the British cruiser/racer Sunstone, a varnished timber Sparkman and Stephens-designed 39-footer built in 196 5 and owned by cruising couple Tom and Vicky Jackson. The Sydney yacht Ninety Seven, skippered by Graham Gibson, dropped from first to third overall with an IMS corrected speed of 10.2 knots, just ahead of the Tasmanian yacht Interum (Craig King).

Leading the PHS handicap category is the veteran yacht Hogsbreath Witchdoctor, owned by the Rum Consortium, with Berrimilla (Alex Whitworth) in second place, Delta Wing (Bill Koppe) dropping back to third position overnight.

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM