The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
12 June 2001, 10:42 am
Good racing enjoyed at Herne Bay
No ALT tag specified
Robbie Swift in wave mode ©PWA

North Sea Cup Windsurfing Series, Great Britain

Round Three of the popular European North Sea Cup Series of windsurfing events took place in Herne Bay,on the south east coast of England over the weekend of the 9-10 June.
Competitors travelled from France, Holland and Belgium for the event. There is one more event to go in the series, that will take place in Wimmereux, France over the 23-24 June. Dutch competitor Theo Don reports that it was 'A Great event - we were made very welcome by one of the friendliest sailing clubs I've come across. Great parking, good access for boats/crews/results etc - excellent evening meal provided, breakfasts etc and food and drink available all day.'

Unfortunately there was very little wind on Saturday and only one race was completed for the Raceboard and Aloha fleets, with none for the Formula Windsurfing Fleet.
On Sunday conditions were better with a moderate breeze. Four more races were completed for the Raceboard and Aloha fleets and four also for the Formula Windsurfing fleet. There was -lots of rig changing, due to the freshening breeze and lots of happy smiley people at the end of a good days racing!

In the International Raceboard Fleet French men Gautier Zunquin (FRA) and Pierre Loquet (FRA) took first and second respectively, followed by Leo Mc Callin(GBR). First Youth and woman overall was Catherine Potter (GBR). In the Aloha junior one design class the British came out on top in the form of Doug Etheridge (GBR), Rich Potter (GBR) and Peter Bird (GBR). The Formula windsurf fleet was won by up and coming super star Robbie Swift (GBR), followed by scots man Alan Jackson (GBR) and Nick Deverill (GBR) took third.

Results (GBR unless stated otherwise):

Formula Windsurf

1 89 Robby Swift
2 457 Alan Jackson
3 374 Nick Deverell
4 NED82 Adriaan Rssselbeighe
5 117 Eddy Short
6 250 Rupert Rhodes
7 141 Gregory Silman
8 822 John Edwards
9 NZL67 David MacInnes
10 443 Christiaan Snouck Hurgonje

Aloha Class

1 913 Douglas Etheridge
2 81 Rich Potter
3 933 Peter Bird
4 F421 Martin Watine
5 136 Valentin Mahy
6 35 Pauline Dubois
7 9395 Milos Pechtot
8 3167 Julien Boutilleux
9 9401 Andrew Maxwell
10 907 Paul Sibley

International Raceboard

1 FRA82 Gautier Zunquin
2 FRA113 Pierre Loquet
3 38 Leo McCallin
4 69 Gavin Rogers
5 1117 Ian Roberts
6 720 Jonathan White
7 61A Catherine Potter
8 1111 Paul Leone
9 919 Robert Kent
10 FRA4 Gregoire Masson

National 7.5 Raceboard

1 51 Bill Mason
2 238 Andy Copleston
3 571 Geoff Lane
4 8402 Tim Gibson
5 984 Tony Goodwin
6 214 Mick Searle
7 819 Ray Neale
8 537 Rod Davis
9 277 Colin Pearce
10 7282 Brian Tilbury

National Unlimited Raceboard

1 451 Xavier Ferlet
2 365 Mark Kay
3 338 Andy Mexome
4 164 Bob Ingram
5 798 Mike Blackgrove
6 288 Lee Copleston
7 589 Mark Cawley
8 27 John Ellis
9 148 Richard Baker
10 66 John Pete

News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM