The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
16 March 2001, 08:50 am
Semi Finalists Decided
No ALT tag specified
Cameron Appleton At Work ©Fotopress NZ

Steinlager Line 7 Cup

Bertrand Pace, Gavin Brady, Magnus Holmberg and Cameron Appleton will be contesting the semi-finals on Saturday.
After an action packed day on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour, three America's Cup teams have made the cut to the semi-finals of the Steinlager Line 7 Cup. The Cup holders, Team New Zealand, have two skippers through, Bertrand Pace and Cameron Appleton, while Magnus Holmberg of Sweden's Victory Challenge, and Prada's Gavin Brady also qualify.

First to secure a place in the semi-finals was Bertrand Pace, who ends up as the top qualifier, earning himself the right to choose his opponent in the best of three race semis. He commented at the end of the day, "it was difficult today, we were leading in every race, but we lost two." The right to choose his opponent is not something that Pace relishes, "I don't like making this decision, it is always bad for me," he said.

Gavin Brady ensured his place in Saturday's semi-final action with a race to spare, finishing level with Pace on sixteen wins, but losing the topspot on a tie-break. The battle for the other two places went to the wire, with Denmark's Jesper Radich beating Magnus Holmberg in the last race of the day, to create a three way tie for the other two places. Holmberg, Appleton and Team New Zealand skipper Dean Barker all had fourteen wins, with Barker losing out on the countback.

The tension had built throughout the day on the Waitemata Harbour, with up to seven skippers starting the day with a chance of making the cut, and the field narrowing as the rounds progressed. A good north easterly breeze from 10 to 15 knots, enabled the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron to keep the event on schedule, leaving just the semi-finals and finals to be sailed on Saturday.

Both the semi-finals and the finals, are first to win three races series.

Round Robin Results

Bertrand Pace NZL 16 - 6
Gavin Brady ITA 16 - 6
Magnus Holmberg SWE 14 - 8
Cameron Appleton NZL 14 - 8
Dean Barker NZL 14 - 8
Rod Davis ITA 13 - 9
Chris Dickson USA 10 - 12
Jesper Radich DEN 10 - 12
Andy Green GBR 8 - 14
Jes Gram-Hansen DEN 7 - 15
Nicola Celon ITA 6 - 16
Bjorn Hansen SWE 4 - 18

News Editor / John Roberson
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM