The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
28 August 2001, 10:36 am
Kaklamanakis and Lee Lai Shan Win
No ALT tag specified
Aaron Mc Intosh (NZL) 6 overall

Mistral World Championship

With two more races at the men's gold fleet and three at the women's category, the Mistral World Championship has concluded in Varkiza, Greece.
The result of Kaklamanakis (GRE) and Lee Lai Shan (HKG) winning replicates the results at the Atlanta 1996 Olympics where they both won Gold.

It was generally a windy championships, except for right at the beginning of the event. The two new World Champions both won with a race to spare.

Nikos Kaklamanakis of Greece was declared for the second year in a row the world champion of the Mistral men category. Silver went to Przemek Miarczynski from Poland and Bronze to Fabrice Hassen of France.

In the Mistral Women, the champion was for the third time in her career Lee Lai Shan from Hong Kong. Silver went to Faustine Merret and Bronze to Jeanne Mailhos, both from France.

The final ceremony was dedicated to the people that worked in front and behind the scenes, for the success of the championship.

Results, 12 races, 2 discards:


1. Nikolas Kalamanakis GRE 37 pts
2. Przemek Miarczynski POL 46 pts
3. Fabrice Hassen FRA 49 pts
4. Gal Fridman ISR 55 pts
5. Nicolas Huget FRA 75 pts
6. Aaron McIntosh NZL 76 pts
7. Maxim Oberemko UKR 78 pts
8. Nick Dempsey GBR 84 pts
9. Alexander Baronjan GER 88 pts
10. Nicolas Beudou FRA 93 pts


1. Lee Lai Shan HKG 33 pts
2. Faustine Merret FRA 49 pts
3. Jeanne Malihos FRA 59 pts
4. Natasha Sturges GBR 66 pts
5. Synthia Gros FRA 98 pts
6. Agata Brygola POL 99 pts
7. Wang Lifang CHN 100 pts
8. Sigrid Rondelez BEL 103 pts
9. Amelie Lux GER 110 pts
10. Marzena Okonska POL 110 pts

News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM