The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
7 August 2001, 10:04 am
Australians Challenge Irish For Top Spots
No ALT tag specified
photo:David Branigan

Mirror World Championships

Irish boats head the leaderboard at the Datalex-sponsored Mirror World Championship at Howth Yacht Club in Ireland after the second day’s racing but it was Australian crews who made up the most ground over two races sailed in fickle winds.
Nick Meadow and Sam Trott of Carrickfergus SC have taken over as championship leaders by winning the series' third race and then recovering from a disastrous start in the mid-30s to finish a remarkable 8th. That result puts him 9 points clear of early leader Peter Bayly and William Atkinson of Lough Derg YC who improved from a 19th in race 3 to a third place in race four.

Race 3 was very much a Northern Ireland affair with Meadow/Trott finishing ahead of the two Cultra entries of Clayton/Todd and Hill/Martin.

Australian crew Torvar Mirsky and Justin Jacob from Fremantle enjoyed the conditions, adding a win in race four to a 13th in the third to jump three places overall from 6th on the opening day. Two fourth places from Mark O'Toole and John Collova from Royal Perth YC were enough to move that Australian pairing up to 5th overall.

Top British entrants Robert Grieg-Gran and Jonathon Telford of Lympstone SC scored a second in race 3 and now lie fourth overall.

In the International Regatta being run concurrently, Ireland dominates with the top five places overall after four races. Stuart and Ross Vaughan of RNIYC lead Royal Cork's Bryan Cotter/Richard McGlade by 7 points with Stephen Glennon/Graham Barker of the host club a further two points adrift.


Race 3
1 N.Meadow/S.Trott IRL
2 C.Clayton/P.Todd IRL
3 M.Hill/S.Martin IRL
4 M.O'Toole/J. Collova - AUS
5 M.Burge/K.MacGregor GBR
6 I.McGonigle/S.Glynn IRL

Race 4
1 T.Mirsky/J.Jacob AUS
2 R.Grieg-Gran/J.Telford GBR
3 P.Bayly/W.Atkinson IRL
4 M.O'Toole/J.Collova AUS
5 A.Kaiser/J.Vaughan IRL
6 W.Winter/A.Davies GBR

Overall (after 4 races):
1 N.Meadow/S.Trott IRL 14pts
2 P.Bayly/W.Atkinson IRL 25pts
3 T.Mirsky/J.Jacob AUS 37pts
4 R.Grieg-Gran/J.Telford GBR 44pts
5 M.O'Toole/J.Collova AUS 52 pts
6 C & C Forristal IRL 53pts

International Regatta (after four races)
1 S & R Vaughan IRL 18pts
2 B.Cotter/R.McGlade IRL 25pts
3 S.Glennon/G.Barker IRL 27pts
4 W & R Kearney IRL 32pts
5 S.McGrotty/S.O'Toole IRL 38pts
6 J.McGovern/K.McKenzie GBR 40pts
Mirror Worlds Press/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM