The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
1 August 2001, 10:17 am
Banco Espirito Santo and Zurich Winners
No ALT tag specified
The Group B Start photo:Siga Curt

Copa Del Rey
Palma de Majorca

The first race of the XX Copa Del Rey has been completed in Palma de Majorca, Spain. Banco Espirito Santo and Zurich won Group A and Group B respectively.
The first race began with a southerly wind, that was shifting and changing in intensity with frequents holes in the wind.

The course for this first race was 10.30 miles in distance. At the start, at 13.00 hours the wind was between 6 and 7 knots.

Though the wind forecasts were not very optimistic, in the end the racing was good. The wind was shifting from 185º to 200º with a clear advantage to sailors on the left side of the race course.

From the left, Caixa Galicia rounded first at the top mark, followed by CAM and Codorniu. Fourth was Mascalzone Latino in its first outing.

In Group A, although Azur de Puig sailed well, winner of the first race was Banco Espirito Santo, finishing 1.28 minutes ahead of Mascalzone Latino, and 2.06 minutes before Azur de Puig.

Zurich, Giacomelly Sport and Telepizza-Pepsi, commanded the group B, continuously extending their lead from the rest. Group B had some some starting problems, and two starts had to be cancelled.

The victory in the group B was for Zurich, followed by Telepizza-Pepsi 2.04 minutes after and the Giacomelli Sport, 4.13 minutes after.

Tomorrow the long race of 110 miles will be held.


A Group:

1 Banco Espirito Santo

2 Mascalzone Latino

3 Azur de Puig

4 Caixa Galicia

5 Castellón Costa Azahar.

B Group:

1 Zurich

2 Telepizza-Pepsi

3 Giacomelli Spot

4 Ads Glen

5 Antena 3-Loewe
Copa Del Rey Press&News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM