The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
23 September 2001, 03:03 pm
Starts Today
No ALT tag specified
©Peter Bentley

Volvo Ocean Race

Todays's the day. After years of preparation for the crews, boat builders and designers, 15:00 (local time) this afternoon will see eight boats start in the first leg of the Volvo Ocean Race to Cape Town, South Africa.
For the first time in this race navigators have been able to nominate 10 websites they can view during the race.

The start will be from the Royal Yacht Squadron start line and the fleet will leave the Solent to the west, via Hurst Castle and the Needles Channel. The main shipping channel will be closed for the period of the start (14.00hrs-15.15hrs) by kind permission of Associated British Ports.

The Volvo Ocean Race is run every four years. It starts in Southampton on September 23rd 2001 and finishes in Kiel, Germany, on June 9th 2002. Over ba period lasting some nine months, the Volvo Ocean Race will reach a broad audience around the world via modern communication technology.

The Crews

Ninety seven sailors will crew the eight Volvo Ocean 60s that will start the first leg of the Volvo Ocean Race on Sunday 23rd September bound for Cape Town, South Africa.

Official crew list:

AMER SPORTS ONE (Nautor Challenge)
Grant Dalton (New Zealand) Skipper
Roger Nilson (Sweden) Navigator
Phil Airey (New Zealand)
Bouwe Bekking (Netherlands)
Jeff Brock (Canada)
Claudio Celon (Italy)
Keith Kilpatrick (United States of America)
Chris Nicholson (Australia)
Peter Pendleton (United States of America/Canada)
Pepe Ribes Rubio (Spain)
Steffano Rizzi (Italy)
Dee Smith (United States of America)

AMER SPORTS TOO (Nautor Challenge)
Lisa McDonald (United States of America/Great Britain) Skipper
Genevieve White (Australia) Navigator
Anna Drougge (Sweden)
Emma Westmacott (Great Britain/Australia)
Katie Pettibone (United States of America)
Bridget Suckling (New Zealand)
Keryn Henderson (New Zealand)
Sharon Ferris (New Zealand)
Abigail Seager (Great Britain)
Eleanor Hay (Great Britain)
Willenien Van Hoeve (Netherlands/Ireland)
Klaartje Zuiderbaam (Netherlands)
Melissa Purdy (United States of America)

Roy Heiner (Netherlands) Skipper
Mark Rudiger (United States of America) Co-skipper/Navigator
Magnus Olsson (Sweden)
Richard Mason (New Zealand)
Jason Carrington (Great Britain)
Guillermo Altadill(Spain)
Jules Mazaris (France)
Michael Joubert (South Africa)
Sidney Gavignet (France)
Klabbe Nylof (Sweden)
Neal McDonald (Great Britain)
Stuart Wilson (New Zealand)

djuice (djuice dragons)
Knut Frostad (Norway) Skipper
Jean-Yves Bernot (France) Navigator
Espen Guttormsen (Norway)
Arve Roaas (Norway)
Mickael Lundh (Sweden)
Jonas Wackenhuth (Sweden)
Stig Westergaard (Denmark)
Jacques Vincent (France)
Steve Gruver (United States of America)
Peter Doriean (Australia)
Wouter Verbraak (Netherlands)
Christen Horn Johannessen (Norway)

John Kostecki (United States of America) Skipper
Juan Vila (Spain) Navigator
Ian Moore (Northern Ireland) Navigator
Stuart Bannatyne (New Zealand)
Mark Christensen (New Zealand)
Ross Halcrow (New Zealand)
Dirk De Ridder (Netherlands)
Ray Davies (New Zealand)
Richard Clarke (Canada)
Jamie Gale (New Zealand)
Stu Bettany (New Zealand)
Tony Kolb (Germany)

Jez Fanstone (Great Britain) Skipper
Ross Field (New Zealand) Navigator
Nick White (New Zealand) Navigator
Jon Gunderson (New Zealand)
Damien Duke (Australia)
Justin Slattery (Ireland)
Joe Spooner (New Zealand)
Barney Walker (Australia)
Steve Cotton (Australia)
Jeff Scott (Australia)
Craig Smith (New Zealand)
Alister Pratt (Australia)

Kevin Shoebridge (New Zealand) Skipper
Steve Hayles (Great Britain) Navigator
Brad Jackson (New Zealand)
Tim Powell (Great Britain)
Jim Close (Australia)
Robert Salthouse (New Zealand)
Jonathon Swain (South Africa)
Gerrard Mitchell (Great Britain)
David Endean (New Zealand)
Jan Dekker (France)
Guy Salter (Great Britain)
Damion Foxall (Ireland)

Gunnar Krantz (Sweden) Skipper
Marcel Van Triest (Netherlands) Navigator
Rodney Arden (New Zealand)
Tony Mutter (New Zealand)
David Rolfe (New Zealand)
Matthew Humphries (Great Britain)
Magnus Woxen (Sweden)
Gareth Cooke (New Zealand)
Tom Braidwood (Australia)
Glen Kessels (Great Britain)
Scott Beavis (New Zealand)
Santiago Lange (Argentina)

Volvo Ocean Press/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM