The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
31 July 2001, 05:22 pm
Ontario Take The CYA Canada Cup Trophy
No ALT tag specified

CYA Canadian Youth Sailing Championships

Over 200 sailors from across Canada enjoyed 5 days of racing out of the Charlottetown Yacht Club in PEI, Canada.

Twelve races were completed in all fleets during the 2001 CYA Youth Sailing Championships. In the end, Ontario managed to clinch the CYA Canada Cup Trophy for the fifth time in a row, beating BC by 5 point.

This regatta is Canada's premiere annual youth event whereupon sailors and provinces strive to reach the podium. Asides from great racing and training opportunities for young athletes, this regatta is also the first qualifying regatta for the 2002 Canadian Youth World Team. This team will be officially announced in the next few weeks.

Special congratulations to Ola Kolaweski (Glenmore, Alberta) who won the Fogh Marine Sportsmanship Award for her demonstrated enthusiasm, perserverence and good spirit shown both on and off the water.

Throughout the event, athletes enjoyed several guest speakers, activities and YOTS (youth Olympic Training Seminar) presentations including : a Worell 1000 Slide Show, a presentation by the 2001 Youth World Team, a talk by sport psychologist Colin Guthrie, daily d-briefings from guest coaches, a cardboard boat building contests (which proved to be a great way to get coaches swimming!) and many others.

Thanks to the Charlottetown Yacht Club and all of its members and volunteers for running an excellent event both on and off the water. The two race courses were chaired by Rob Williams and Mike Walker. Jury Chair was Warren Nethercote, leading a crew of Mike Weir, Lynn Beal and Peter Wood. Also- thanks to the many sponsors who donated prizes and supplies throughout the regatta.

Top results in all fleets were as follows:
1)Mike Leigh (Vancouver, RVYC),
2)Sam Bussin (Toronto, RCYC),
3)Ari Holtzer (Toronto, RCYC)

1)Jennifer Spalding (Vancouver, RVYC),
2)Ryan May (Pickering, ON, FBYC),
3)Griffin Hewitt (Vancouver, RVYC).

1)Conner Higgins (Toronto, RCYC),
2) Simon Hirst (Toronto, RCYC),
3)Andrew Costa (North Vancouver, RVYC).

1)Mark Farmer/Mathieu Dillulo (Dorval, RSTLYC),
2)Adrian Carpenter/Maggie Brown (Ottawa, BYC),
3)Marion Morris/Alyson Morris (Motreal, RSTLYC).

Laser 2:
1)Trevor McEwen/Andrew Greer (Belleville, BQYC),
2)Jessica Broe-Vayda/Roslyn Dakin (Hamilton, RHYC),
3)Beth Campbell/Liz Shaw (Halifax, RNSYS).

1)Ian Matthews (Toronto, TWC),
2)Lisa McKenzie (Katevale, PQ),
3)Colin Graves (Kingston, KBA).

1)Andrew Bethune/James Griffin (Chester, CYC),
2)Jeff Bethune/Emily Bishop (Halifax, CYC),
3)Patric Lea/Andrew Ranking (Charlottetown, CYC).
Canadian Yachting Association/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM