The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 December 2005, 09:43 am
SHREEVE Notches Up Two Wins In Melbourne
No ALT tag specified

Formula Windsurfing World Championship 2005
Melbourne, Australia

There were more weather delays on day two of the 2005 Formula Windsurfing World Championship at Sail Melbourne, but the women finally got race two in this afternoon, with Australia's Allison SHREEVE notching up her first win, following a third place yesterday's race one, after her recovery from a start line collision. In race three she added another bullet to take the overall series lead.
Current four-time World Champion, Dorota STASZEWSKI, having won the opening race of the series yesterday, finished second today, after leading SHREEVE around the course for the second half of the race. The 23 year old Aussie, though, managed to peg the Polish woman back in the last stages of the race to get the gun. In the following race three she was third behind the Aussie to move up to second overall.

A second Polish entry, Marta HLAVATY, finished third in race two and fourth in race three for a third overall, with 2005 European Champion Lucy HORWOOD (GBR), fourth overall.

France's Youth World and European Champion, Julien QUENTEL, leads the men's event by four points from former two-time World Champion, Wojtek BRZOZOWSKI (POL), with American Seth BESSE in third place.

At 1615 hours local time, Elwood Sailing Club race organizers were holding the boardsailors ashore, as conditions are light and fickle on a lumpy sea. Up until that point only two races each have been held in the open and women's events. The women were first back on the water to complete their race three in the more normal windy conditions expected on Port Phillip.

A truly international event representing 22 nations, the 96 competitors contesting the Championship come from such countries as Poland, Latvia, Estonia, Brazil, USA, Denmark and Finland.

Top Ten Open After Two Races

Pos Nation Skipper R1 R2 Pts
1 FRA Julien QUENTEL 1 2 3
2 POL Wojtek BRZOZOWSKI 3 4 7
3 USA Seth BESSE 4 5 9
4 ISV Devon BOULON 2 11 13
5 NED Pieter BIJL 11 3 14
6 NED Joeri VAN DIJK 7 8 15
7 NED Casper BOUMAN 15 1 16
8 GBR Ross WILLIAMS 12 6 18
9 NED Dennis LITTEL 10 12 22
10 BRA Wilhelm SCHURMANN 16 7 23

Top Nine Women After Three Races

Pos Nation Skipper R1 R2 R3 Pts
1 AUS Allison SHREEVE 3 1 1 5
2 POL Dorota STASZEWSKA 1 2 3 6
3 POL Marta HLAVATY 2 3 4 9
4 GBR Lucy HORWOOD 10 OCS 4 2 16
5 GBR Amy CARTER 5 5 8 18
6 POL Zofia KLEPACKA 4 10 DNF 5 19
7 AUS Anna DAVIS 10 OCS 6 6 22
8 FIN Sara BECKMAN 6 10 DNF 9 25
9 DEN Bettina HONORE 10 OCS 10 DNF 7 27
Di Pearson (As Amended By ISAF). Image, The fleet gets underway in Port Phillip:© Jeff Crow/Sport the Library
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM