The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
20 July 2001, 12:17 pm
New Zealander Bullot Has The Lead
No ALT tag specified

Laser Radial World Championships

The wind went around the compass twice as the fleet waited ashore in heavy rain and storms on the first of two finals days of the Laser Radial Open world Championship.
After a 5 hour delay the skies cleared and the fleet left the shore in a building south westerly wind. Unfortunately there was a strong leftover current from the previous day under the fleet at the start which together with a shifting wind caused 2 general recalls before the gold fleet started at the third attempt.

With the top sailors now concentrated in one group getting clear at the start was both difficult and vital. Overnight leaders, Frederik Lassenius SWE, Anders Nyholm DEN and Andre Streppel BRA all had indifferent starts whilst joint leader Orkun Soyer TUR faired even worse finding himself disqualified for being on the course side of the line at the starting gun. Fifth placed Michael Bullot NZL faired better in spite of being boxed in at the start as did sixth placed Andreas Rallatos GRE.

Bullot soon found a space and clear wind. "I worked the port side of the first leg and found more pressure which enabled me to round first although some of the leaders at first mark came from the right". Bullot held his lead to the finish. Rallatos had to work harder pulling through the fleet on the following downwind leg. Streppel worked back to 9th from 20th which he still discards to leave him as joint leader with Bullot and Lassenius for the remaining two races on Friday.

The Silver fleet had several attempts at their start as the Race Committee attempted to set a fair line in the continuing shifting wind. At 1930 hrs they abandoned all remaining starts.

All fleets will attempt to complete 2 races on Friday.

Gold Fleet

Overall mens results, Top 10:

1 NZL Michael Bullot 11,0pts
2 SWE Fredrik Lassenius 11,0pts
3 BRA Andre Streppel 11,0pts
4 GRE Andreas Rallatos 13,0pts
5 TUR Orkun Soyer 19,0pts
6 CRO Aron Lolic 20,0pts
7 POL Marcin Rudawski 21,0pts
8 TUR Alp Alpagut 22,0pts
9 DEN Anders Nyholm 26,0pts
10 NZL Chris Kitchen 26,0pts

Overall Womens results, Top 10:

1 ITA Larissa Nevierov 11,0pts
2 POL Katarzyna Szotynski 12,0pts
3 GBR Jayne Singleton 21,0pts
4 BER Sara Lane Wright 27,0pts
5 SWE Jeanette Dagson 31,0pts
6 FRA Sophie De Turckheim 31,0pts
7 BLR Tatiana Drozdovskaya 34,0pts
8 FRA Solenne Brain 38,0pts
9 GBR Andrea Brewster 41,0pts
10 GBR Beth Lygoe 52,0pts

Laser Radial Press&News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM