The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
20 February 2001, 10:38 am
Barlo Plastics the boat to beat
No ALT tag specified

Barlo Plastics IC 45 remain the boat to beat following the second day of the second regatta in the Clean Marine IC 45 Winter Series 2001, organized by the Club de Mar Mallorca. Another four races today, Saturday 17th February, took place in fresh sunn...
SEB triumphed in today's first race whilst Babbalaas outsmarted Barlo Plastics on the last run to take second place ahead of Adrian Stead and the crew aboard Barlo Plastics IC 45, the big boat selected for the Barlo Plastics British Admiral's Cup Team 2001. A convincing win in race 2 saw Barlo Plastics finish ten boat-lengths ahead of the Spanish boat La Casera and the young Nicolas Charbonnier on Faster K-Yote II finished third.

Race 2's finishing line-up was repeated in today's race 3 (7 of the Series) as Barlo Plastics managed to just sneak ahead when the fleet all overlapped going round the leeward mark, through the leeward gate at the end of lap one. Barlo Plastics secured a cracking start to today's final race at the left-hand end, but Babbalaas got a good right shift and both yachts rounded the top mark overlapped. Barlo Plastics then sat in a hole, to round the next top mark in 5th place, however with four boats at the finishing line Barlo Plastics took third place behind first placed British entry Babbalaas and Faster K-Yote II in second.

Commenting on the day's performance, skipper Stead said, "We secured some good starts again today and showed some excellent boat speed, with everyone working well. We also made a few adjustments to the rig today, which we
think are better, and overall we're in very good shape. Depending on how many races take place tomorrow, I think we are in a position to have already secured victory - or at least we are very close to winning the second regatta of this Series."

Overall results after 8 races (1 discard)

1 Barlo Plastics Stead/Ainslie 11 pts
2 Faster K-Yote Charbonnier/Fedensieu 21 pts
3 Investor Krantz/Van Triest 22 pts
4 Babbalaas Barker/Mc Lean 22 pts
5 La Casera Smith/Jaudenes 23 pts
6 Aifos Amaldo pts
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM