The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
17 April 2001, 09:27 am
Radich Wins
No ALT tag specified

Danish MRC Challenge

Local skipper Jesper Radich of Copenhagen won the MRC Challenge 2001.
Then ISAF Grade 2 regatta, was hosted by the KDY/SKS match race center, organizers of the Danish Open 2001. Radich outdueled Morten Henriksen of the illbruck Challenge for the 2003 America's Cup two races to zero in the championship final sailed on the waters of Skovshoved Harbour just north of Copenhagen.

Radich, a regular on the Swedish Match Grand Prix Sailing Tour, featuring the world's leading Grade 1 events, utilized his knowledge of the waters of Skovshoved Harbour in claiming the victory over his seasoned German opponent. Radich's experience sailing in light air came in handy as he managed to take early leads in both matches, from the first tack to the finish line, to record his victory.

In the petit final Francesco de Angelis of the Prada Challenge left nothing to chance and handily defeated local sailor Jesper Feldt two races to zero to finish third.

The Swedish Match Tour's other regular competing at the MRC Challenge 2001, Denmark's Jes Gram-Hansen, enjoyed early success in the regatta, winning Group B of the round robin with five wins and zero defeats. However Gram-Hansen was defeated by de Angelis in the quarterfinals and ultimately finished seventh upon defeating Sweden's Bjorn Hansen in Sunday's sail off.

Skovshoved Harbour is home of the KDY/SKS Match Race Center, host of the Danish Open 2001 and the training center for more than 230 sailors. Established in 1993 by the Royal Danish Yacht Club (KDY), Skovshoved Yacht Club (SKS) joined joined KDY in 1994 to jointly manage what is now Denmark's premier coaching and training match race sailing facility. KDY/SKS Match Race Center has a fleet of six boats, making them the only center in Denmark with a fleet of this size.


1 Jesper Radich DEN
2 Morten Henriksen GER
3 Francesco de Angelis ITA
4 Jesper Feldt DEN
5 Johnie Berntsson SWE
6 Lars Nordbjerg DEN
7 Jes Gram-Hansen DEN
8 Bjorn Hansen SWE
9 Mikael Lindqvist SWE
10 Henrik Jensen DEN
11 Philippe Presti FRA
12 Troels Lykke DEN
News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM