The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 April 2001, 09:42 am
Boardsailors Happy With Fresher Breeze
No ALT tag specified

OlympicSail New Zealand

Day two of the Mighty River Power OlympicSail stared in fresh south-easterly winds that made a great contrast to yesterdays light conditions.
Conditions were what the organisers had hoped for to ensure sailors faced a good range of conditions for this year's Olympic class regatta. "Where yesterday's light conditions tested the patience and precision of the sailors, today's fresh breeze was a test of fitness and boat handling skillsat speed" says Yachting New Zealand's High Performance Manager, Peter Lester.

The Board sailors and Tornado catamaran created spectacular viewing hitting awesome speeds across the lake. The heavy gusts caused plenty of action with some spectacular capsizes and broken gear forcing some boats to withdraw.

Sydney 2000 representative Sarah Mackay pulled back some of Abby Mason's lead in the Europe dinghy winning two of the three races today. In the Laser class Alistair Gair showed all round form winning two races today in the breeze after standing second at the end of day one's light breezes.

Andrew Brown and Jamie Hunt stretched their legs in the heavy breeze today dominating the 470 class with three wins from three to extend their lead after yesterday. The team is hitting form before they head to the European regattas and the World championships in September.

Results after 2 races

Europe Dinghy
1st - Abby Mason, 9 points (Pupuke Sailing Club)
2nd - Sarah Macky, 11 points (Kohimarama Yacht Club)
3rd - Sarah Winther, 16 points (Wakatere)

470 class Men
1st - Andrew Brown/Jamie Hunt 6 points (Murrays Bay)
2nd - Matthew Davies/Kevin Burrows 15 pts (RNZYS)
3rd - Nick Taylor/Jen Cheyne 16pts (Muritai YC)

470 class Women
1st - Melinda Henshaw/Sharon Ferris, 23 pts (Murrays Bay)
2nd - Shelly Hesson/Linda Dickson, 24 pts (Mt Pleasant)
3rd - Charmaine Tait/Jenny Egnot, 37 pts (Murrays Bay)

Tornado catamaran
1st - Chris Skinner/Jason Williams, 7pts (MHSC)
2nd - Geoff Copplestone/Tim Meldrum, 13pts (Takapuna)

Mistral Boards Men
1st - Aaron MacIntosh 10pts (Bucklands Beach)
2nd - Scott Radley 15pts (MOA)
3rd - Thomas Ashley 21 pts (MOA)

Mistral Boards Women
1st - Sheena McKinnon 33pts (MOA)
2nd - Anna Eason 37pts (Bucklands Beach)
3rd - Julie Worth 38pts (MOA)

OK Dinghy
1st - Russell Wood 10 pts (Point Chevalier SC)
2nd - Nigel Mannering 12pts (Napier Sailing Club)
3rd - Daniel Bush 16pts (Murrays Bay)

1st - Alastair Gair 9pts (Murrays Bay)
2nd - Chris Decke 17pts (Takapuna)
3rd - Robbie McMillan 30 points (Plimmerton)

Laser radial
1st - Luke Judge 18 pts (Torbay BC)
2nd - Simon Baker 22pts (Torbay BC)
3rd - Jason Geale 25pts (Evans Bay)
News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM