The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
30 October 2001, 06:36 pm
IOC President and ISAF President of Honour to Present Awards
No ALT tag specified
Jacques Rogge

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2001

ISAF is delighted to announce that the IOC President, Jacques Rogge and ISAF President of Honour, HM King Constantine, will be presenting the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards.
The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2001 will take place on 13 November 2001 in Lisbon, Portugal.

Jacques is a sailor and past Olympic sailor which is certainly valued by ISAF. Further, ISAF is proud that Jacques makes his first formal appearance with ISAF at this prestigious and important event, and on the inauguration of Rolex's sponsorship of the World Sailor of the Year Awards.

Jacques Rogge is a three-time Olympic sailor having participated in the sailing regatta of the Games of the Olympiad in Mexico (1968), Munich (1972) and Montreal (1976), and also a past member of the ISAF Medical Commission. He was elected the eighth President of the IOC on 16 July 2001, having been an IOC Member since 1991.

HM King Constantine, ISAF President of Honour, and honorary IOC Member will present the other Award. HM King Constantine is a former Olympic Gold medallist following his winning performance in the Dragon Class at the 1960 Olympics, at just twenty years of age. In 1965, he was appointed ISAF Vice President of Honour, and in 1994 became ISAF President of Honour. He still actively sails at various international events.

The sailors shortlisted for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2001 were announced on 10 October 2001, as follows:

Female Sailors
Sofia Bekatorou and Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
Sari Multala (FIN)
Lee Lai-Shan (HKG)

Male Sailors
Grant Dalton (NZL)
Michel Desjoyeaux (FRA)
Torben Grael (BRA)
Heiko Kroger (GER)
Fredrik Loof (SWE)
Yves Parlier (FRA)
Robert Scheidt (BRA)

Voting is currently being undertaken amongst all ISAF MNA's who are invited to vote for one of each of the Male and Female Nominees. Voting will conclude on 31 October 2001 and the winners will be announced and awards presented on 13 November 2001, Lisbon, Portugal.

For the winners, Rolex has commissioned a stunning new trophy. A solid sphere depicts the world and is crowned by five silver spinnakers representing the continents. Each will also receive a Rolex chronometer.

Editor's Note: Full details on the achievements of the nominees for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2001, tickets to attend this prestigious event and Media Accreditation details are available at

For further information:
Luissa Smith, ISAF Secretariat. Tel: +44 2380 635111 Fax: +44 2380 635789.
Email: Web:
Susannah Bourne, The Strategic Organisation (on behalf of Rolex).
Tel: +44 20 7228 8800 Fax: +44 20 7228 8899
Email: Web:
ISAF Secretariat
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM