The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
27 October 2001, 09:38 am
Andy Honoured By Presentation of Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy
No ALT tag specified

Andy Kostanecki Receives Top US Sailing Award

At the United States Sailing Association's Annual General Meeting awards dinner on Saturday, October 20, Andrew (Andy) Kostanecki was presented with the Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy.
Since 1957, US Sailing has annually recognized a sailor for exemplary life-long service to sailing.

"Andy's service to sailing spans four decades and includes service in the trenches of our committees," said the committee that nominated Kostanecki. The committee noted that he previously served as a US Sailing officer (treasurer and vice president), and provided "leadership of our successful Olympic team in Korea." Kostanecki also served national and international leadership roles as an officer of the United States Olympic Committee, and as representative to and committee chair of the International Sailing Association Federation. He was awarded the ISAF's gold medal in 1996 for outstanding service.

To a standing ovation, Kostanecki accepted the award. "I have always thought that the best awards are those that include the names of your peers from years past and years to come. But in this case as I read the names of those that have preceded me, I am reluctant to call them my peers. After all, these are the giants of our sport and I consider myself lots of things, but a giant from within my sport is not one of them." Those who nominated him would surely disagree. "In each and every job, Andy was a leader and served us with distinction," the nomination continued. "He is the only sailor to have ever been elected by all 44 Olympic sports as an officer of the United States Olympic Committee. On the international level, Andy served as Chief de Mission for the recent Sydney Paralympic Games. Sailing's positive reputation among the leadership of America's Olympic family can be traced to Andy's outstanding twelve years of leadership on our behalf."

The Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy was donated in 1957 by the National Marine Manufacturers Association and is awarded annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the sport of sailing in this country in any associated activity.
Penny Riva Rego/ISAF Secretariat
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM