The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 October 2001, 11:55 am
Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron Wins
No ALT tag specified

Australian Youth Match Racing Championship
Sydney Harbour

Final day of Match Racing in the Steve Jarvin Kia Australian Youth Match Racing Championship again provided close racing going down to the very last race in the best of 5 grand final.

Triumphant were the team from the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, Michael Dunstan / Mark Dorling / Charles Ellis.

Nathan Outteridge, with his Hunter Academy crew Luke Jonston and Ashley Reeves, won 2 of the first 3 races in best of 3 grand final. The next race went to Dunstan so it was 2 all and down to the last possible race. With the 8 knot breeze flicking around Michael Dunstan and his crew from the RSYS took a shift to the right to take a clear lead on the first work. Tight covering downwind saw the Hunter Academy team close but taking advantage of the shifting wind allowed the experienced RSYS team the opportunity to round the top mark first and run away clear to take out the title.

The minor semis were sailed off between Katie Sptihill and her RPAYC crew against Justin Mann helming for Royal Perth. Justin won the first race and crossed the finishing line first in the second in a best of three final but was then penalized by the on-water umpires for touching the finish mark. A third race was then needed to decide 3rd and 4th positions. RPAYC crew won the start and maintained a good cover moving away to a convincing win and 3rd place overall.

A round robin between 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th was sailed off in light switching morning winds. John Winning and his crew from the CYCA won their first two races so moved in front of RQYS on a count back into 5th position overall. The two Victorian teams also switched places as their team's match racing improved and Sandringham moved into 7th position in front of Royal Brighton YC.

The crews and the AYF thanked the sponsor Steve Jarvin Kia as they accepted their awards, acknowledging the financial support necessary to conduct a match racing regatta of this standard.

Final Results:

1 NSW Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron Michael Dunstan / Mark Dorling / Charles Ellis
2 NSW Hunter Academy of Sport Nathan Outteridge / Luke Johnson / Ashley Reeves
3 NSW Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club Katie Spithill / Dan Corlett / Murray Gordon
4 WA Royal Perth Yacht Club Justin Mann / James Barr / Paul Clarke
5 NSW Cruising Yacht Club of Australia John Winning / Tneal Kawalla / Scott Barockell
6 QLD Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron Mathew Chew / David Chew / Andrew Schmidt
7 VIC Sandringham Yacht Club Ricky Ironmonger / Drew Isaacs / Paul Newman
8 VIC Royal Brighton Yacht Club David Barnes / Glenn Austin / Melissa Chisholm
9 TAS Tasmanian Yachting Association Rod Chamberlain / Marcus Jones / Stewart Wells
Jenni Bonnitcha/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM