The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
3 October 2001, 11:46 am
Day 2
No ALT tag specified

Australian Youth Match Racing Championship

An afternoon of strong gusty breeze brought in a new dimension to the 2001 Steve Jarvin KIA Australian Youth Match Racing Championship causing upsets in several matches.

Despite the variations in winds throughout the day, the experienced Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron (NSW) crew of Michael Dunstan, Mark Dorling & Charles Ellis held their overall lead in the event.

Racing got underway at 10.45am this morning in a gentle 4-7 knot wind with the Tasmanian Yachting Association and the Sandringham Yacht Club (VIC) crews first up. This match, which was won by the Victorian crew of Ricky Ironmonger, Drew Issacs & Paul Newman, was later to decide the overall standings as it was needed to break a tie for 8th & 9th places.

The crew from the Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron of Mathew Chew (Youth Worlds 420 Bronze medallist), David Chew & Andrew Schmidt were the only ones to take a match from the leading Royal Sydney crew. With three other match wins they end the round robin in 5th place.

Hunter Academy of Sport (NSW) crew of Nathan Outteridge, Luke Johnson & Ashley Reeves were one of two crews to improve their results from yesterday, winning more races in round two than round one. With six wins from eight races, the young 15year old skipper & experienced 29er crew, now sits in 3rd place overall. The Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (NSW) crew, lead by Katie Spithill sit one place ahead of them in 2nd overall.

The top four crews will progress into a Semi Finals & Finals series, whilst places 5th to 8th will race off in a best of three round robin.


1 NSW Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron Michael Dunstan / Mark
Dorling / Charles Ellis 15pts
2 NSW Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club Katie Spithill / Dan Corlett
/ Murray Gordon 11 pts
3 NSW Hunter Academy of Sport Nathan Outteridge / Luke Johnson /
Ashley Reeves 11 pts (3rd on a tie break - NSW[RPAYC] d NSW [HAS])
4 WA Royal Perth Yacht Club Justin Mann / James Barr /
Paul Clarke 9 pts
5 QLD Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron Mathew Chew / David Chew / Andrew
Schmidt 9 pts (5th on a tie break - WA d QLD)
6 NSW Cruising Yacht Club of Australia John Winning / Tneal
Kawalla / Scott Barockell 6 pts
7 VIC Royal Brighton Yacht Club David Barnes / Glenn Austin
/ Melissa Chisholm 5 pts
8 VIC Sandringham Yacht Club Ricky Ironmonger / Drew Isaacs /
Paul Newman 3 pts
9 TAS Tasmanian Yachting Association Rod Chamberlain / Marcus
Jones / Stewart Wells 3 pts (9th on a tie break - VIC[SYC] d TAS)

Jenni Bonnitcha/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM