The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 October 2001, 12:49 pm
Mark Thorpe is the New Champion
No ALT tag specified
Greg Wise (AUS) tops a wave

Moth World Championship
Chosgi Marina

Race 9 was a great tussle between Thorpe, Dey and McDougall with the lead changing a dozen times. Dey fastest upwind, Thorpe fastest downhill and McDougall fastest reaching.
Then the Thorpe computer, obviously still not recovered for the previous days mark finding debacle, decided, while in the lead, to charge off on a flyer into oblivion. The race was shortened at the end of the reach giving McDougall the race a few seconds over Dey, the only break to the Thorpe/Dey stranglehold.

Thorpe's computer seemed to come back on line in Race 10, as this time he headed to the correct side of the course early never to be headed, leaving Dey and McDougall to a race similar the morning with McDougall grabbing second spot. Back in the middle of the pack there also was close racing. Boats were jostling for over all position in the regatta, covering one another for the entire last lap.

Presentation was the least formal affair of the series, as packing the order of the day. What in the morning was a marina full of colorful moths and various camping clusters, is now empty bar a dozen crates packed with Moths.

Overall Results:

1. Mark Thorpe (AUS) Took the championship in a decisive manner with 7 wins and a total of 9 points.
2. Chris Dey (AUS) A clear second with 2 wins and 16 points, is also defending World Champion.
3. Andrew McDougall (AUS) Third overall with 1 win and 19 points. Also the first master (40+).
4. Frederic Duviosin (SWI) With the only competitive radical boat in the fleet was a comfortable 4th.
5. Patrick Ruf (SWI) Sailing an un-radicalised version of Freddy's boat.
6. Oliver Laing (AUS) The outgoing World President
7. Steven Donovan (AUS) In only his third year of sailing Moths this is a great effort.
8. Masataka Katoh (JAP) Also winning the Japanese National title earlier on.

Moth Worlds Press/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM