The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
28 February 2011, 09:50 am
Brazilian Sailing Team Defined After Brazilian Sailing Week
Scheidt and Prada
Scheidt and Prada

Brazilian Sailing Week
Florianopolis, Brazil

After two weeks of qualifying races at the Brazilian Sailing Week in Florianopolis the best Brazilian sailors have secured their places in the next Pan-American games and the national team.
The sailors will compete in international competitions throughout the 2011 season with the first challenge coming in April at the Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia, Majorca, the third of seven stops in the ISAF Sailing World Cup series.

Adriana Kostiw in the Laser Radial and Bruno Fontes in the Laser are the only changes to the list, but have been part of the team in previous years, losing their privilege last year.

Kostiw, 36, who won a bronze medal at the 2007 Pan-American games said, "I'm very happy. Now I will compete in the Pan-Am without pressure, unlike Rio 2007."

The best selective performance was by the duo Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada, in the Star class. With near-perfect races, the leaders of the world rankings took the title with two races to go.

In the 470 class, the champions were Fabio Pillar and Gustavo Thiesen. The winner in Finn class was Jorge Zarif and in the 49er class Andre Fonseca and Marco Grael were victors.

The Brazilian Match Race Team is now formed by the skipper Juliana Mota and crew Marina Jardim and Larissa Juk.

Fernanda Oliveira and Ana Luiza Barbachan are also national members in the 470 woman class.

The Brazilian Sailing Week is organized by the CBVM -- the Brazilian Sailing Federation and the Yacht Club of Santa Catarina, with support from Brazilian Olympic Committee, Sailing Federation of Santa Catarina, Florianopolis City Hall and the Government of Santa Catarina and production by Brazil1 Esporte.

The event is sponsored by Bradesco, the official supporter CBVM, and by CPFL Energia.


Laser Radial - 10 races
1- Adriana Kostiw - 9 points
2- Odile Ginaid - 18
3- Monica Matschinske - 21

Laser Standard - 10 races
1- Bruno Fontes - 11
2- Eduardo Couto - 20
3- Adrion Santos - 26

RS:X Men's - 10 races
1- Ricardo Winicki - 8
2- Albert de Carvalho - 15
3- Gabriel Carvalho - 24

RS:X Women's - 10 races
1- Patricia Freitas - 8
2- Patricia Castro - 15
3- Lélia Winkler - 26

Finn - 10 races
1- Jorge Zarif - 8
2- Paul Henry Boening - 14
3- Fábio Bodra - 28

470 - 10 races
1- Fabio Pillar and Gustavo Thiesen - 10
2- Fernanda Oliveira and Ana Luiza Barbachan - 19
3- Martine Grael and Isabel Swan - 22

Star - 10 races
1- Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada - 8
2- Torben Grael and Marcelo Ferreira - 15
3- Admar Gonzaga and Ronald Seifert - 22

49er - 15 races
1- Andre Fonseca and Marco Grael - 16
2- Pablo Herman and Luis Herman (CHI) - 33
3- Santiago Silveira and Philipp Umpierre (URU) - 34

Match Race - Final
1- Juliana Mota, Marina Jardim and Larissa Juk
2- Renata Decnop, Fernanda Decnop and Tatiana Ribeiro
3- Juliana Senfft, Gabriela Sa and Daniela Adler
4- Caroline Béjar, Andrea Grael and Kira Penido

ZDL - Flávio Perez
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM