The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 February 2011, 11:51 am
Exciting Finale Rounds Out Sail Auckland 2011
Sail Auckland 2011
Finn Action At Sail Auckland 2011

Sail Auckland 2011
Auckland, New Zealand

Sail Auckland 2011 has finished with gold medals going to Tom Ashley and Kate Ellingham in the RS:X, Andrew Murdoch and Sara Winther in the Laser and Radial, Nick Rogers and Chris Grube (GBR) in the 470, Dan Slater in the Finn and Marcus Hansen and Aaron Hume-Merry in the 49er.
"The regatta has been a huge success," commented Jez Fanstone, Olympic Programme Manager for Yachting New Zealand. "Takapuna Boating Club has hosted a great event, with plenty of close racing in all fleets. It's great to have all the Olympic classes sailing from the same venue and there have been so many people down to watch the racing and join in on the action at the Club."

Michael Bullot and Andrew Murdoch (NZL) went head to head again today with Murdoch getting the upper hand in the final race of the series, clawing back a point on Bullot in the standings. Going into the medal race just one point separated the two NZL Sailing Team sailors meaning that for each, getting home before the other would almost certainly secure the title.

Josh Junior took the win in the medal race, but it was Murdoch that snuck home in seventh in front of Bullot in ninth to take the win at Sail Auckland. Tom Burton (AUS) won the bronze medal.

Tom Ashley (NZL) topped the podium with a win in the men's RS:X. Ashley was second home in today's medal race behind Dorian Van Rijsselberge who in winning the final double-points race secured the silver medal.

Jon-Paul Tobin (NZL) was presented the bronze medal finishing on equal points with Antonio Cozzolino (NZL), but coming off better on count-back.

Kate Ellingham (NZL) was the winner in the women's fleet, but her closest rival Natalia Kosinska (POL) retired after day three with an injury. Ellingham won the medal race and took out the event with a 12 point winning margin from Justina Sellers (NZL) who won silver.


In the largest fleet of the regatta Sara Winther took victory over New Zealand's best and other international competition in the Radial rig Laser including top youth, masters and women sailors.

Michael Cate (NZL) was second and Nicholas Croft came through in third.


Nick Rogers and Chris Grube (GBR) were too good for the rest of the fleet on the 470 course taking out today's medal race and the regatta by a massive 17 point margin. The Britons won seven out of eleven races and were top two in all but one race.

Competition was tight among the chasing pack with New Zealand's Jo Aleh and Olivia Powrie, and men's crew Paul Snow-Hansen and Jason Saunders battling for silver.

Aleh and Powrie found form over the second half of the regatta, putting up a tough challenge for Rogers and Grube in the medal race, crossing the finish just behind them to secure the silver medal. Snow-Hansen and Saunders held onto third for the bronze medal.

Dan Slater (NZL) took the Finn class gold ahead of Rafa Trujillo Villar (ESP) who took silver. Slater was solid throughout the four days of racing at Sail Auckland 2011 winning seven out of ten races in the class where seven boats were competing.

Matt Coutts (NZL) came home in third place.

Clear winners in the 49er skiff were Marcus Hansen and Aaron Hume-Merry who, bar one DNF, made a clean sweep of winning 15 races from 16 starts. Chris Burgess and Rowan Swanson (NZL) were second.


The final day produced some shuffling among the placings in both Paralympics classes where racing has been staged off Westhaven Marina. Visiting internationals took the top spot in both the SKUD18 and the 2.4 metre.

In the SKUD18 two-person boat Wei Qiang Jovin Tan and Desiree Lim (SIN) were the winners with Annabelle Tye and Andrew May (NZL) beating Tim Dempsey and Jan Apel (NZL) on count back for the silver.

In the 2.4 metre Michael Leydon (AUS) came through for victory over Megan Pascoe (GBR). Overnight leader, Paul Francis (NZL) was third.

See for full results.

Jodie Bakewell-White (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM