The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 January 2011, 01:05 pm
Argentina And Great Britain Take Gold At 420 World Championships
420 World Championships 2011
Pablo Volker with Agustín Cunill Martinez on their way to Gold

International 420 World Championships 2011
Buenos Aires, Argentina

2011 World Champions Pablo Volker with Agustín Cunill Martinez (ARG) and ladies champions Annabel Vose & Megan Brickwood (GBR) both dominated their fleets in Buenos Aries to take Gold. .
For Pablo Völker and Agustín Cunill Martinez it was total domination all the way. Over the eleven race regatta their worst, discarded, result was 5th. The Argentinian pair won an impressive five races and finished with 19 points overall, a massive 27points ahead of second placed Edoardo Mancinelli Scotti and Leonardo Cucchiara (ITA).

The British girls only had one result outside the top ten across the eleven races and showed that consistency pays with a final points total of 36, six points clear of second placed Nadine Böhm and Monika Lindner from Germany

After a week of great racing conditions the final day of racing proved to be a bit more of a struggle for the race organisers. Two races were scheduled for the final day but the wind said otherwise with occasional rain squalls and shifty light winds causing problems. For more than two hours the Race Committee moved from place to place in pursuit of a steady course in a crazily shifty wind, that veered and backed as some immense cumulus paraded over the River Plate. Finally the wind settled from the NNW and blew a decent 8/10 knots giving the competitors a final race they deserved.

Both fleets started promptly without even an individual recall and the lighter wind with it's subtle changes created an interesting race, which tested the tactical knowledge of the fleets.

There were some changes in the overall placings, maybe caused by nerves that spoilt the performance of some crews, but the final day had no impact on those at the top.

Open Fleet - final leaderboard:
1 Pablo Völker & Agustín Cunill Martinez (ARG) 19 points
2 Edoardo Mancinelli Scotti & Leonardo Cucchiara (ITA) 46 pts
3 Benjamin Grez & Diego Gonzalez (CHI) 54 pts
4 Jordi Xammar & Joan Herp (ESP) 58 pts
5 Mike Wood & Hermione Stanley (GBR) 95 pts
6 Tim Gratton & Ed Riley (GBR) 101 pts
7 Juan Manuel Garcia Rodriguez & Facundo Olezza (ARG) 128 pts
8 James Hayward & Tim Carter (GBR) 131 pts
9 Joanna Freeman & Ben Gratton (GBR) 133 pts
10 Julian Stückl & Adrian Hoesch (GER) 149 pts

Ladies' Fleet - final leaderboard:
1 Annabel Vose & Megan Brickwood (GBR) 36 pts
2 Nadine Böhm & Monika Lindner (GER) 42 pts
3 Maelenn Lemaitre & Aloise Retornaz (FRA) 48 points
4 Luz Bonello & Sofia Tedin (ARG) 58 pts
5 Nadja Horwitz & Sofia Middleton (CHI) 90 pts
6 Nikole Barnes & Agustina Barbuto (ISV) 95 pts
7 Cécile Gutierrez & Gwenaelle Berhault (FRA) 97 pts
8 Maria José Cucalón & Andrea Collin (ECU) 103 pts
9 Alessandra Moretto Wiel & Marcella Mamusa (ITA) 107 pts
10 Ann-Christin Goliaß & Anke Lukosch (GER) 109 pts

Event website -

International 420 Class Association website -

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM