The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
24 June 2011, 09:50 am
Fast, Furious and Frenetic Sailing At Fireball Worlds
Fireball Sailors In Sligo, Ireland
Fireball Sailors In Sligo, Ireland

Fireball World Championship
Sligo, Ireland

The fleet assembled early in Sligo on the fourth day, ready to embrace a day that offered the prospect of four races.
Conditions were excellent for Fireball sailing with moderate seas and a steady breeze which was its strongest during the first race.

In the end three races were sailed on the fourth day even though the programme was for four.

The charge to the first weather mark was tight in every race but in the last race in particular, the lead enjoyed by the first three or four boats was very comfortable, not only over each other but relative to the bulk of the fleet. However, black flags were to dictate who took the top spots. Alex Taylor and Richard Anderton (GBR) came through in first, Tom Gillard and Alex Brearey (GBR) came second and Ben Schulz and Philip Bowley came down in third.

Schulz & Bowley scored a win in the middle race and were relieved to see the breeze back on the course and were never outside the top two, losing a place on a gybe mark but recovering to take the gun. Behind them came Gillard and Brearey and David Wade and Simon Potts.

Matt Burge and Richard Wagstaff opened the day's proceedings with the first race win, leading from start to finish. It was to be their only race finish as they are currently sitting with an OCS and a BFD for races 2 and 3. Wade and Potts took second and Gillard and Brearey finished third.

For some of the other visitors, the day's breeze saw a change of fortunes. French pair Martin Peculier and Jean-Francois Nouel, who had scored a fifth on Sunday, put together a 21, 15, 24 on the fourth day to see them into 18th place overall. Canadians Joe Jospe and Tom Egli had a similar day finshing 16th, 24th and 11th to lie 20th overall.

With five races completed and a single discard kicking in, the status of the Championship is as follows.

1. Tom Gillard & Sam Brearey 10pts
2. Jonny McGovern & Max Capener 15pts
3. Alan Krailing & Tim Saunders 21pts
4. Tim Rush & Richard Pepperdine 27pts
5. Alex Taylor & Richard Anderton 29pts
6. David Wade & Simon Potts 29pts
7. Ben Schulz & Phillip Bowley 31pts
8. Noel Butler & Stephen Oram 37pts
9. Kenneth Rumball & Seamus Moore 43pts
10. Martyn Lewis & Richard Byrne 44pts
Cormac Bradley
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM