The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
25 June 2011, 08:50 am
2011 Fireball World Champions Decided in Sligo
Burge & Wagstaff
Matt Burge & Richard Wagstaf (GBR) 2011 Fireball World Champions

Fireball World Championship
Sligo, Ireland

Four races were sailed on a wet and windy final day of the 2011 Fireball World Championship in Sligo, Ireland. Two teams ended the day tied on 16points so the World title was decided on countback.
Matt Burge and Richard Wagstaff (GBR) began the championship in the same way they began with a race win after improving their performance through the day. They posted a sixth in race 6, second in race 7, fourth in race 8 before claiming their fourth race win of the Championship in race 9 to finish the series on 16points, relieved no doubt to be able to discard their OCS and BFD scores from the previous day.

The most consistent team were Tom Gillard and Sam Breary (GBR) who, after their BFD in race 1, did not finish a race lower than third. They began the final day with their first race win of the Championship before adding two more thirds and a second to their overall score. Gillard and Breary finish the regatta on 16 points to tie with Burge and Wagstaff but the overall win on countback went to the latter with their four race wins.

Congratulations to Matt Burge and Richard Wagstaff (GBR) the 2011 Fireball World Champions.

The standout team of the day were David Wade and Simon Potts (GBR) who posted two firsts and two seconds in the four tough races. Wade and Potts end the Championship third overall, just three points behind the two leaders.

Final Results after nine races:
1. Matt Burge & Richard Wagstaff (GBR) - 16pts
2. Tom Gillard & Sam Brearey (GBR) - 16pts
3. David Wade & Simon Potts (GBR) - 19 pts
4. Alex Taylor & Richard Anderton (GBR) - 38pts
5. Ben Schulz & Philip Bowley (AUS) - 38pts
6. Jonny McGovern & Max Capener (GBR) - 38pts
7. Alan Krailing & Tim Saunders (GBR) - 41pts
8. Vince Horey & Andy Thompson (GBR) - 53pts
9. Tim Rush & Richard Pepperdine (GBR)- 71pts
10. Noel Butler & Stephen Oram (IRL) - 73pts

Cormac Bradley
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM