The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 September 2011, 12:59 pm
Silke Hahlbrock Wins Trentino Women's Match Race Gold
Germany's Silke Hahlbrock
Germany's Silke Hahlbrock

Trentino Women's Match Race
Lake Ledro, Italy

The only Grade One Match Race held in Italy, the Trentino Women's Match Race, concluded yesterday with Germany taking the gold medal.
This top event in the Women's Match Race calendar has now reached its twelfth edition and, as always, is organized on lake Ledro by Lake Ledro Sailing Association in collaboration with Fraglia Vela Riva. The German crew of Silke Hahlbrock, at the helm and #20 in the world, Maren Hahlbrock and Anke Lukosch beat the Slovenian crew of Vesna Dekleva Paoli with Katarina Kersevan and Lena Koter in the final.

In third place was Tamara Echegoyen, of Spain with Angela Pumariega and Carmen Prado.

This event was the only one of this category to be held in Italy, as was the grade 2 Men's Match Race in July. Ten countries participated, and it was a tight competition from the beginning. On the first day of the regatta winds were light and many races were completed. On the second day however, heavy showers limited the number of races. Fortunately this didn't last long, and during the following days the sun and wind returned to give almost perfect conditions for the elimination rounds and the consequent Semi Finals and Final.

"Once again we have had in Trentino and lake Ledro the pleasure of hosting the match race," commented Paola Mora, president of Lake Ledro Sailing Association.

"After the grade 2 Men's Match Race last July, we have had the Women's grade 1, which this year celebrates its twelfth edition. Unfortunately we didn't have any of our usual skippers at the regatta, since they are all busy preparing for the London Olympics 2012.

"However, the level this year was still exceptional as grade 1 demands. Lake Ledro and our club, with the collaboration of good wind conditions, were able to do justice to the team races and the one to one Match Race. It's wonderful to see how enthusiastic the athletes are to come to our valley in our little lake to compete at the highest level".

1. Hahlbrock (GER)
2. Dekleva Paoli (SLO)
3. Echegoyen (ESP)
4. Tylinska (POL)
5. Mariani (ITA)
6. Sylvan (SWE)
7. Kilba (CRO)
8. Aimone (BRA)
9. Ramires (POR)
10. Sanchez (ESP)
11. Bertini (ITA)

Elena Giolai
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM