The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
19 September 2011, 11:21 am
Myszka And Klepacka Claim RS:X Europeans Titles
Klepacka And Korzits Celebrate
Klepacka And Korzits Celebrate

RS:X European Championship
Bourgas, Bulgaria

Poland's Piotr Myszka and Zofia Klepacka claimed the top honours at the RS:X European Championship in Bourgas, Bulgaria.
In 16-18 knots and bright sunshine the women were up first and Maja Dziarnowska (POL7) was the first out of the blocks. Leading the group out to the right hand side of the course, she was in close company with Lee Korzits (ISR) and Bryony Shaw (GBR) all the way up the first beat. Meanwhile Blanca Manchon (ESP) and Maayan Davidovich (ISR) went hard left. There wasn't much in it at the first rounding.

The rolling battle went on all the way downwind to the bottom gate and up to the top mark again but it was Dziarnowska and Korzits who finally stamped their authority on the race on the last downwind.

Dziarnowska was in command at speeds up to 18 knots as she punched into the slalom section to take the race by 80 metres. It didn't change the overall results but Korzits' second secured a 24 point advantage over third placed Pauline Perrin (FRA). The new RS:X European Champion is Zofia Klepacka (POL) who cruised through the medal race to finish seventh and win overall by eight points.

Over in the RS:X Men's fleet, there were two battles to watch. One for third place and one between Shahar Zubari (ISR) and Nimrod Mashich (ISR). The outcome of the first was inextricably linked to the outcome of the second.

At the start, the ten were behind the start boat ready to sheet in and hit the line at full speed. Mashich was paying close attention to his countryman who tacked onto port to head off to the right hand side. Mashich tacked on top to establish a close cover. They were joined by Richard Stauffacher (SUI) whilst the rest rode their fins all the way out to the left.

All that is except Ivan Pastor Lafuente (ESP) who took the middle of the upwind leg determined to give himself every chance with a conservative strategy.

The duel between the two Israelis went on all the way up the first beat. Nimrod had only one aim in view, drive Zubari down the order and deny him the bronze medal. In this, he was successful. When Zubari finally broke the cover and found fresh breeze he was faced with an impossible task.

Pastor Lafuente meanwhile was not going to ignore the opportunity that presented itself. He hung on to take the bronze medal with Byron Kokalanis (GRE) racing just behind Myszka whose points advantage had already assured him of the title.

RS:X Men's Top 10
1. Piotr Myszka (POL) 17.0
2. Byron Kokalanis (GRE) 41.0
3. Ivan Pastor Lafuente (ESP) 53.0
4. Shahar Zubari (ISR) 55.0
5. Pierre Le Coq (FRA) 62.0
6. Andreas Cariolou (CYP) 68.0
7. Richard Stauffacher (SUI) 80.0
8. Nimrod Mashiah (ISR) 81.0
9. Nicolas Le Gal (FRA) 116.0
10. Louis-Benoit Hug (FRA) 122.0

RS:X Women's Top 10
1. Zofia Klepacka (POL) 43.0
2. Lee-el Korzits (ISR) 51.0
3. Pauline Perrin (FRA) 75.0
4. Blanca Manchon Dominguez (ESP) 82.0
5. Bryony E Shaw (GBR) 88.0
6. Olga Maslivet (UKR) 92.0
7. Dziarnowska Maja (POL) 95.0
8. Laura Linares (ITA) 100.0
9. Brygola Agata (POL) 110.0
10. Maayan Davidovich (ISR) 113


Rory Ramsden (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM