The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 October 2011, 06:30 pm
Tunnicliffe and Team Maclaren Win The 21st Santa Maria Cup
Julie Bossard
Julie Bossard

Santa Maria Cup
Annapolis, USA

2011 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Nominee Anna Tunnicliffe (Team Maclaren) (USA) took four exciting flights to win the 21st Santa Maria Cup.
Second place went to Julie Bossard (FRA) and third place to Becca Dellenbaugh (USA). There were consistently strong winds on this final day of the Championship accompanied by choppy water. In the third flight of the final, Elodie Fauve of Team Bossard fell overboard and quickly recovered but with the strong winds it meant a chilling finish. Sharon Ferris-Choat (CAN) finished fourth, Liz Baylis (USA) was fifth, Silja Lehtinen (FIN) was sixth, Team Ruhlman (USA) was seventh and Team Silve (Argentina) was eighth.

The Gay Lynn Trophy is given annually to the skipper of the top finishing Santa Maria Cup skipper in her first Santa Maria Cup. The 2011 winner is Becca Dellenbaugh. A second special Santa Maria Cup award is the Eleanor Ruth Wilcox Memorial Trophy for the Bowperson on the winning team. This award was given to Liz Bower Lewin, who dedicated her trophy to Team Maclaren and spoke too modestly of her role in the team's victory.

For real-time race reports, tune in to Results and other regatta information is available at
Susan Nahmias
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM