The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 August 2011, 11:38 am
Matt Whitfield And Scott Wallis Win RS Feva Worlds
Jumping For Joy
Jumping For Joy

RS Feva World Championship
Bruinisse, the Netherlands

One hundred and sixty RS Fevas from three continents gathered on the shores of a brand new major event location at Bruinisse on the Grevelingen Lake in Holland.
The two day qualification series started with a proper blow. Had the blow continued there is little doubt that Jovian Short and James Barlow (GBR) would now be World Champions such was their awesome dominance. But the wind then got much lighter and different teams took their turn at hunting glory.

One day was cancelled due to inappropriately light wind but by the final day it was a two boat shootout and an opportunity for the Dutch girls Floor and Sterre Vrijenhoek to grab the Ladies Champions title as well as the bronze medal overall, but despite winning the final race Robert Baddeley and James Taylor did enough to seal the bronze.

Ultimately Matt Whitfield and Scott Wallis sailed a brilliant series and deservedly claimed the World Championship to relegate last year's winners, Owen Bowerman and Charlie Darling to second spot.

World Junior Champions (U13 at end 2011) are Courtney Bilbrough and Orla Mitchell who sail out of Docklands Watersports & Sailing Centre, runners up are Caroline Heiberg and Marie Bordal (NOR) whilst third place was deservedly taken by Spain's Albert Gelpi and Eduard Boneta.

Full results here -

Golly Tucker (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM