The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
8 November 2004, 12:25 pm
Ian WALKER, Louis KENNA and Max KENNA Crowned Champions!
No ALT tag specified

Etchells European Championship
St Tropez

The final day of the Etchells European Championships, in the bay of St Tropez, left the British crew of Ian WALKER, Louis and Max KENNA with an unassailable lead, to be crowned champions.
The first race of the day was sailed in a refreshing 10 knot northerly breeze, with the breeze blowing off the hills on the north shore, there were major shifts, and it was Jervis TILLY and his crew on Bushfire, who negotiated the "snakes and ladders" best to an emphatic win, with Ante RAZMILOVIC and crew in second, and Ian WALKER a very consistent third.

The second race of the day, there was a very major windshift during the first leg, with the wind veering from northerly to easterly. The boats that had initially gone to the right were able to set spinnakers to get to the first mark. Once again it was Jervis TILLY who lead the pack, and correctly noted that the committee had moved the leeward gate. However, on the next upwind leg, confusion ensued, with five yachts sailing back to the original yellow buoy, and the rest of the fleet sailing round an incorrectly identified windward mark boat. Many protests and counter protests ensued, leaving the International Jury and the Race Committee little choice but to abandon the race, and scrub it from the series.

Unfortunately, by the time everyone had finished the final race, the breeze had completely died, and any further racing was abandoned. This gave WALKER and crew an emphatic victory, from RAZMILOVIC in second, and DRENNAN / MCCARTHY in third.

Final Positions

1) GBR 1067 - Ian WALKER / Louis KENNA / Max KENNA 7 points

2) GBR 1302 - Ante RAZMILOVIC / David BEDFORD / Simon FRY 11points

3) GBR 1195 - Noel DRENNAN / Jack MCCARTHY / Andrew YATES 13 points

4) USA 942 - Peter DUNCAN / Jud SMITH / Tom BLACKWELL 14 points

5) GBR 1021 - Jervis TILLY / Cian O'CARROLL / Kane WILLIAMSN 16 points

6) AUS 1024 - David MORELL / Peter RATTRAY / Dick HODGSON 21 points
Adam Cowley (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM