The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 November 2004, 10:28 am
Nominations Invited For US SAILING Rolex Awards
No ALT tag specified

US Sailing

Throughout 2004, U.S. sailors achieved tremendous successes on the waters at home and abroad, including at this summer's Olympic and Paralympic Games and at National and World Championships.
US SAILING, national governing body for the sport, is now accepting nominations for the 2004 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards, considered the highest individual sailing honors in the U.S. Members of US SAILING can nominate their favorite male and female sailors to receive this distinguished award through November 30, 2004, on US SAILING's website at the address below.

The Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards are presented annually to the individual yachtsman and yachtswoman who demonstrate excellence through outstanding on-the-water achievement during the current year. After the nomination period ends on November 30, the nominations will be presented to a panel of noted sailing journalists who will discuss the merits of each nominee and vote by secret ballot to determine the award winners. The winners each will be presented with a specially-engraved Rolex timepiece and the perpetual Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Trophy, a Steuben crystal depiction of the yacht America.

Established in 1961 by US SAILING and sponsored by Rolex Watch U.S.A. since 1980, the Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards are among US SAILING' s most prestigious distinctions. Winners of the awards include Augie DIAZ and Hannah SWETT in 2003, as well as Betsy ALISON, Liz BAYLIS, Ed BAIRD, Paul CAYARD, Steve FOSSETT, JJ ISLER, John KOSTECKI, Dawn RILEY, Cory SERTL, and Ted TURNER.
US SAILING (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM