The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 November 2004, 12:50 pm
Jesper BANK (DEN) To Host Awards Presentation
No ALT tag specified
Jesper BANK (DEN)© Victory Challenge

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2004

The double-Olympic Gold Medallist and America's Cup sailor Jesper BANK (DEN) will be host of the prestigious ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards Presentation on 9 November 2004 in Copenhagen, Denmark.
Jesper's involvement in the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards continues the long tradition of the Awards Presentation being hosted by a renowned international sailor - an evening for sailors by sailors.

A multi-Olympian, Jesper has claimed two Gold Medals and one Bronze Medal during his Olympic career. The three Olympic Medals were won in the Soling Class. Jesper's first medal, a Bronze, was claimed at the 1988 Olympic Games in Seoul, Korea. His performance at the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona, Spain upgraded his medal to a Gold, which was matched by a second gold at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia.

Complimenting his Olympic career, Jesper has won six World and three European Championship titles in the Soling, Dragon and H-Boat classes. No stranger to the match racing scene, in 1999 he won the coveted ISAF World Match Racing Championship. An America's Cup sailor as well, Jesper skippered the Scandinavian America's Cup syndicate, "Victory Challenge", in the 2002 Louis Vuitton Cup. Accomplishments which rank Jesper as one of Denmark's most successful athletes.

No ALT tag specified
Jesper BANK,with crew Henrik BLAKSKJAER and Thomas JACOBSEN on their way to Gold Medal victory at the 2000 Olympic Games, Sydney, Australia.
© Nick Wilson/Allsport

More recently Jesper has focused his skills on running "OlymPeak Coaching", which runs a distinctive education programme, coaching people in corporations to develop strategies and attain goals.

The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are presented annually to recognise the outstanding sailing achievements of male and female sailors, as nominated and voted by the world of sailing. 2004 marks the eleventh presentation of the Awards.

Previous Presenters:
1994 Gary JOBSON (USA) and Bruno TROUBLE (FRA)
1995 Gary JOBSON (USA) and Teresa ZABELL (ESP)
1996 Sir Peter BLAKE (NZL) and Sir Robin KNOX-JOHNSTON (GBR)
1997 Hans WALLEN (SWE) and Dawn RILEY (USA)
1998 Begonia VIA DUFRESNE (ESP) and Bob FISHER (GBR)
2000 Ian WALKER (GBR)
2003 Paul CAYARD (USA)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM