The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
13 November 2004, 07:04 pm
New President, Three Women Elected As Vice-Presidents
No ALT tag specified

Göran PETERSSON (SWE) Elected ISAF President, 2004-2008

With representatives from 80 nations voting, the air was tense with anticipation this afternoon, 13 November 2004. The lobbying had been completed, and the final decision was now in the hands of the 80 nations represented at the ISAF General Assembly.
The General Assembly opened with administrative business, before proceeding to the much awaited election. The three Presidential candidates were on the voting slate first.

The voting process requires that a candidate elected must have received 50% of the ballots in order to be declared elected. In the first round of voting, none of the three candidates - Fernando BOLIN (ESP), Sadi CLAEYS (BEL), Göran PETERSSON (SWE) - received 50%. The voting then proceeded to a run-off ballot between the candidates with the greatest number of votes, Sadi CLAEYS and Göran PETERSSON. On the run-off vote, Göran PETERRSON (SWE) was elected President.

The voting then moved straight onto the Vice-Presidents, with 7 places to be elected, of which at least two should be women. Similar to the President vote, in order to be declared elected, the candidates required more than 50% of the votes. In order of election, the Vice-Presidents are:

Vote 1 - George ANDREADIS (GRE)

Vote 2 - Fiona BARRON (GBR)

Vote 3 - David IRISH (USA)

Vote 4 - David KELLETT (AUS)

Vote 5 - Teresa LARA (VEN)

Vote 6 - Teo Ping LOW (SIN)

Vote 7 - Nucci Novi CEPPELLINI (ITA)

No ALT tag specified
ISAF Executive Committee: back row: David KELLETT (AUS), David IRISH (USA), Teo Ping LOW (SIN), ISAF Secretary General Arve SUNDHEIM, HM King Constantine, HM King Harald of Norway, George ANDREADIS (GRE), front row: Teresa LARA (VEN), Nucci NOVI CEPPELLINI (ITA), Göran PETERSSON (SWE), Fiona BARRON (GBR)

On being elected Göran PETERSSON (SWE) paid tribute to Paul Henderson, and congratulated the other two Presidential candidates, Fernando BOLIN (ESP) and Sadi CLAEYS (BEL).

Speaking to the delegates, Goran PETERSSON commented"This is my finest hour. I am proud and grateful to be here. When I came to the IYRU in 1978, I met the then President Beppe Croce - a fine leader.

Never in my wildest dreams did I believe I would be here. I very much look forward to serving you."

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM