The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
20 August 2004, 09:22 am
National Junior Champions Crowned
No ALT tag specified

Portsmouth, Rhode Island

With all national junior sailing championships completed yesterday, US SAILING has crowned the nation's top junior champions in the single-, double-, and triplehanded events. The winners have been named to the 2004 U.S. Youth Sailing Team.
The new National Junior Champions are: Patrick CURRAN (Moorestown, NJ) - U.S. Junior Singlehanded Champion; Brian KAMILAR and Simon SANDERS (both from Miami, Fla.) - U.S. Junior Doublehanded Champions; and Fred STRAMMER (Noltomis, Fla.), Dalton TEBA (Sarasota, Fla.), and Charlotte SIMS (Venice,
Fla.) - U.S. Junior Triplehanded Champions.

U.S. Junior Singlehanded Championship for the Smythe Trophy
Patrick CURRAN with a total of 28 points, narrowly defeating Sean KELLEY (San Francisco, Calif.) by only three points. The two competitors were head-to-head throughout the three-day regatta, which was hosted by New Bedford Yacht Club in South Dartmouth, Mass., and sponsored by Vanguard Sailboats. Michael EASTON (Burlington, Mass.) took third with 47 points.

This year's event marked the first time that a sportsmanship trophy was awarded. The brand-new trophy, named the Faye Bennet Sportsmanship award, was presented to Matt STERETT (Corpus Christi, TX) after being selected by his fellow competitors. The award is named after Faye Bennet in honor of her long-time unstinting support for and dedication to junior sailing.

U.S. Junior Doublehanded Championship for the Bemis Trophy
Brian Kamilar and Simon Sanders, both from Miami, Fla. and representing Coral Reef Yacht Club, sailed a very strong championship, finishing with a total of 18 points after 10 races, with one discard. The two dominated the fleet throughout the three-day championship, also hosted by New Bedford Yacht Club in South Dartmouth, Mass., and sponsored by Vanguard Sailboats. The real fight was for second place between Josh LEIGHTON (San Diego,
Calif.) and Spencer JOHNSON (Woodacre, Calif.) and the team from Annapolis Yacht Club with Evan ARAS and Alison NAGLE (both from Annapolis, Md.). In the end, the San Diego Yacht Club team grabbed second place finishing with one point ahead and a total of 39 points.

The F. Gregg Bemis Sportsmanship award was presented to Nick THURBER (La Salle, Mich.) after being selected by his peers.

. Junior Triplehanded Championship for the Sears Cup
After three days of exciting racing on Lake Champlain, the team from Venice Youth Boating Association came out as the winners of the regatta, but not without effort. Throughout the Championship, hosted by Malletts Bay Boat Club in Colchester, Vt., and sailed on Lightnings, the young Floridians had close finishes with the team from Royal Vancouver Yacht Club, made up of Andrew COSTA (Burnaby, BC), Abe TORCHINSKY and Rob DALE (both from Vancouver, BC). It wasn't until the ninth and final race was completed that the national champion was determined. Third place finishers were Gary LARGESS, Peter LARGESS, and Katrina SALK (all from Jamestown, RI), representing Conanicut Yacht Club.

The F. Gardner Cox Sportsmanship Trophy, US SAILING's oldest junior championship sportsmanship award, was presented to Ted HALE, Ben ALLEN, and Emily BARTLETT (all from Annapolis, Md.).

Complete results, photos, and daily reports are available via the website below.
Marlieke de Lange Eaton (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM