The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
16 August 2004, 09:29 am
Gram-Hansen Wins
No ALT tag specified

Danish Open 2004

Jes GRAM-HANSEN (DEN) defeated Kelvin HARRAP (NZL) 2-1 in an action-packed and intense final to the ISAF Grade 1 Danish Open 2004, in Skovshoved just outside Copenhagen.
During the prize-giving ceremony Gram-Hansen thanked his crew for their hard work and highlighted the importance of the crowd of spectators cheering him on. More than 1500 people travelled to watch the final which served as a fantastic conclusion to four days of racing with plenty of sun and wind.

Gram-Hansen and crew Michael ARNHILD, Christian KAMP, Rasmus KOSTNER and Chresten PLINIUS made short work of their semi-final opponent, Mathieu RICHARD (FRA), winning 2-0.

Similarly, Harrap and crew Sten MOHR, Tim NIELSON, Mikkel RØSSBERG and Jonas WACKENHUTH defeated their semi-final opponent, Staffan LINDBERG (FIN), 2-0.

In the final, the first to score three points will win the championship. Gram-Hansen previously won this regatta in 2002, while Harrap is making his first appearance in the final.

Richard and crew Gregoire EURARD, Olivier HERLEDANT, Yannik SIMON and Frederic RIVET faced Steffan LINDBERG and crew Nils BJERKÅS, Martin KRITE, Johan KARLSSON and Daniel WALLBERG in the Petit Final, with Richard the eventual winner being the first to score two points.

Peter GILMOUR faced Peter WIBROE in a best-of-three sail off for fifth and sixth., with Gilmour taking fifth.

Final Result Danish Open 2004

1) Jes Gram-Hansen (DEN)
2) Kelvin Harrap (NZL)
3) Mathieu Richard (FRA)
4) Staffan Lindberg (FIN)
5) Peter Gilmour (AUS)
6) Peter Wibroe (DEN)
7) Philippe Presti (FRA)
8) Chris Law (GBR)
9) Lars Nordbjærg (DEN)
10) Ulf Jonson (SWE)
11) Lotte Meldgaard (DEN)
12) Michael Dunstan (AUS)
Event Media (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM