The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
31 March 2004, 09:09 am
Olympic Team Nominated
No ALT tag specified

Yachting Australia

Yachting Australia today nominated eighteen athletes to the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) for selection into the 2004 Australian Olympic Team.
The nominated athletes are:

Single-Handed Dinghy Men: Anthony NOSSITER
Double-Handed Dinghy Men: Nathan WILMOT and Malcolm PAGE
Single-Handed Dinghy Men: Michael BLACKBURN
Windsurfer Men: Lars KLEPPICH
Keelboat Men: Colin BEASHEL and David GILES
Single-Handed Dinghy Women: Sarah BLANCK
Double-Handed Dinghy Women: Jenny ARMSTRONG and Belinda STOWELL
Keelboat Women: Nicky BETHWAITE, Karyn GOJNICH, Kristen KOSMALA
Windsurfer Women: Jessica CRISP
Double-Handed Dinghy Open: Chris NICHOLSON and Gary BOYD
Multihull Open: Darren BUNDOCK and John FORBES

At the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games the swimming team topped the medal count, whilst sailing finished second, with two gold, one silver and a bronze. Sailing is striving to go one better in Athens.

The nominated athletes together bring decades of experience and knowledge in competitive sailing, with eight of the 18 having won medals over the last three Olympic Games.

Yachting Australia CEO, Phil JONES is very pleased to nominate athletes with such strength and experience, "I am delighted that the nomination process has gone well and look forward to the AOC's selection."

Please note that the selection of the Olympic Team will be conducted solely by the Australian Olympic Committee.
Yachting Australia
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM