The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
16 March 2004, 10:33 am
Herreshoff Trophy Awarded
No ALT tag specified


US SAILING, national governing body of the sport, has awarded its Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy to William C. (Bill) MARTIN (Ann Arbor, MI) for his outstanding contribution to the sport of sailing in the U.S.
Martin is a past President of US SAILING (1988-1991) and currently the Acting President of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) and Director of Athletics at the University of Michigan. The Trophy, US SAILING's most prestigious award, was presented by current US SAILING President Janet BAXTER and past President Dave IRISH on 13 March at an awards banquet at US SAILING's annual spring meeting in Mobile, AL.

To a standing ovation, Martin accepted the award. "My roots are in sailing and my experiences at US SAILING prepared me for the challenges I've faced since then," said Martin.

"Bill MARTIN'S contributions to the sport of sailing in the U.S. are without equal comparison in our sport," said the US SAILING committee that nominated Martin. An avid sailor for more than 40 years and a long-time US SAILING volunteer, Martin has made tremendous contributions to sailing. He served on various committees until becoming president of the organization in 1988. President until 1991, Martin led US SAILING to new heights, changing the organization's name from the United States Yacht Racing Union to its current name to accurately reflect the broader mission and full service approach to U.S. sailors. He also played a pivotal role in the development of the United States Sailing Foundation, serving as president from 1995 until 1998.

Gary JOBSON, world class sailor and 1999 Herreshoff Trophy winner, wrote the following upon hearing that Martin would receive the award. "All of us in the sport of sailing are proud of Bill's achievements and our sport is far better today as a direct results of his tireless work."

In 1995, Martin became a member of the USOC Board of Directors. He served on several committees until he was elected USOC Vice President-Secretariat in December 2002. Two months later, in February 2003, Martin became USOC Acting President.

About the Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy The Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy was donated to US SAILING in 1957 by the National Marine Manufacturers Association and is awarded annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the sport of sailing in this country. The recipient is selected by US SAILING's Board of Directors from nominations made by members of the Board, Committee Chairs, past Presidents and Councillors of Honour.

Full details are on the event website at the address below.
US SAILING (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM